Super Mom

I remember

I wonder who didn’t know.  I wonder who only found out the next day.  I wonder if anyone went to bed that night, not knowing that America was under attack.

I was in the office.  Tommie phoned and said that America is under attack.  I ran into the house and I think my mom was already watching the news.  I watch the 2nd plane hit the towers.  Absolute horror.

I remember running back to the office.  My dad had a client.  I burst in and said that America is under attack.  I don’t think he completely believed me.

I remember wanting to protect Quintus, even though we were miles away and not in any kind of danger at all.  I felt the world, the way things were, could not be trusted.  If America was under attack, what else could happen.

We followed the news.  I went home and followed it from there.  I remember switching channels when Quintus walked into the room, even though he was only 16 months old.  I wanted to shield him from it.

I remember the helpless feeling, the total sadness, anger and shock, when the towers collapsed.

America, I remember.

4 responses

  1. I remember too. 2 years before it happened, I was standing on top of one of the towers, outside on the viewing deck, marvelling at this monument of mankind. The miracle of the size of this thing. I chatted to some folks who worked in the mall that ran under one the towers. Then the day it happened I was at home, working on a website for a business that I was starting. My friend, was behind me working on my sewing machine, we were making and selling horse halters. We turned the radio on for some music, and couldn’t understand why there was no music playing for a few minutes. Darren Scott was the DJ. He said something about America, which I didn’t hear, and that is when my friend turned on the TV. That’s when the second plane hit, and I remember thinking that I was either watching an action movie preview, then I thought, okay this is real, and I’m watching a replay. That’s when the news commentator, said, “We can now confirm for you that that was in fact a second plane to hit the other tower.” I remember not being able to stand. Sinking weakly onto my knees. I called my husband, he hadn’t heard yet, he left work immediately and came home. Neither of us were in any danger either, and somehow the whole world had shifted in the last 30 minutes.

    I remember too.

    On another note, I remember when Barack Obama officially won the election. It was like for the first time since those towers came down, that the world breathed a sigh of relief, together.

    September 11, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  2. We will not forget! The stories will be told every year!

    September 11, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  3. Thank you for this post. It is cool to know that halfway around the world people cared about this too.

    September 12, 2010 at 2:07 pm

  4. Ongeloof en verslaentheid en toe verskriklike hartseer …. emosies wat ek ervaar het.

    September 12, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Leave a Reply

