Super Mom

Loss of innocence

Quintus learned about Winston Churchill in school last week.  Also a little bit about Hitler.  He knew that a bit about him murdering many people but never the true extend.

We were watching some TV and they had the 2nd World War on History Channel.  I lay there watching it with him.  The more they explained what happened, the more they talked about the multi-murders, children being separated from their parents, the more I could see my child change.  I could see him losing some of the trust in the world.  It brought the written words in his text book to life.  The reality hit him hard.

He is very sensitive and I could see the tears well up in his eyes.  I held his hand and watched the loss of more of his innocence.  That childhood trust that all will be well in the end.

I hurt for him.  I hurt that he saw that but also, I’m glad that I could be there as he realized the magnitude of the war.  The pain and devastation it caused.

He said that he is glad people aren’t like that anymore.  That people don’t think they have the right to kill in such a brutal way.

I didn’t have the heart to tell him that wars like that are still going on.  Right here on our own continent.

6 responses

  1. I had a similar moment this weekend, when we were talking to Skip about moving overseas. He wanted to know if there were “no” bad people where we were going, and I had to say that well there were bad people everywhere, and that you just had to be careful, but that we would always do our best to keep them safe etc – and you could see the little brain really start to work, and then the questions kept coming all day, so I know that he was thinking heavily about it. Even at the age of 5, they are becoming aware. It’s quite sad.

    September 13, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    • Do you have any plans as to when you would be leaving?

      September 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm

  2. We had the same situation this past weekend while I was talking about the September 11 attacks this weekend. I actually showed Noah some footage from the day and he was very upset. I am hoping that I didn’t expose him to too much too soon.

    September 13, 2010 at 3:31 pm

  3. shireen

    my boys have watched band of brothers with us to teach them that war is not glamorous and not like computer games either.

    September 13, 2010 at 6:23 pm

  4. Sjoe …. wens ons kan die wreedheid van die wêreld van ons kinders weerhou. Dit word al hoe swaarder hoe ouer hulle word! Ten minste was jy daar om sy hand vas te hou … dit sê baie!

    September 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm

  5. My heart breaks each time I see a little bit more of their innocence going. My daughter is now reading those awful SUN Tabloid headlines on the lamp posts. As soon as i see them coming up I try to engage her attention elsewhere. 😦 So hard.

    September 15, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Leave a Reply

