Super Mom

Marry the rich guy

This morning, as I was driving back from dropping the boys off at school, an old school friend of mine drove past me.  In a sleek sexy brand-new Mercedez.  Even though my bakkie is higher, she still seemed to tower out above me.

It’s not even as though she worked to earn that car … she married to earn that car.  I thought of how I used to sit hours and teach her accounting.  How she really battled at school (even with boyfriends) and yet, she ended up marrying the rich guy.

For a second there, I thought that Marriage 101 should be taught in school.  How to catch the rich guy and such.  Sommer having a small pity party.  (I always wish I didn’t have to work, this time of the year)

I then thought of how I see her and her husband at school.  They don’t look happy.  Maybe it’s just their way … not to show affection but they don’t look happy.

I am happy though.  I work hard, mostly wish I could be a stay-at-home-mom but I’m happy.  I’d love to have less stress and more time with the children.  I think they would be happier and less stressed but we are happy.  We enjoy each other and feel loved.  Things work for us.

So yes, I’d love the smart car and no work but I prefer the happy we have.

10 responses

  1. Money can buy things, not love.

    September 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  2. Lol somedays I would rather have the money 🙂

    September 21, 2010 at 10:48 pm

  3. Jen

    the secret to happiness is being content with what you have 🙂

    September 22, 2010 at 12:14 am

  4. Happy is better! 😀

    September 22, 2010 at 8:01 am

  5. Stem saam … ek is eerder gelukkig getroud as stink ryk!

    September 22, 2010 at 7:34 pm

  6. Mel I would never ever ever chose money over happiness. There is no question. Who cares what car you drive. Having love and happiness is what life is about and what gives it meaning and your life is full of abundance, I look up to YOUR life, because you are beautiful, loving and REAL.

    September 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    • Thank you so much Jane. You always make me feel so good about myself 😉

      September 23, 2010 at 8:22 am

  7. I am reading Judge Judy’s book at the moment and the title is “Beauty fades, dumb is forever” I hope that says a lot.
    So glad I have a HAPPY bloggy friend in you!

    September 27, 2010 at 7:28 am

    • 🙂 thank you! And yes, that does make sense. .

      September 27, 2010 at 7:43 am

  8. I fully agree with you – but money would help with that extra little bit of added on happiness, but not to the expense of it. My best bud from school is dyslexic – I spent hours trying to help her, but married rich and is happy! Luckily I still love her just as much otherwise it would have been a tough one to swallow.

    September 27, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

