Super Mom

The story of Stuart Little

Remember the story of Stuart Little?  The little mouse that was adopted and then had to find his way back to his adoptive family after being abducted?

This weekend we had Stuart Little of some kind.

Hammie, Quintus’ hamster that actually lives in our room and is loved and fed by Tommie and myself, escaped this weekend.

I was so upset.  I love that little thing.  I felt SO bad.  Especially after he already lost his leg.  He is so sweet and I couldn’t see him surviving. 

We found out he was missing yesterday afternoon.  I knew he wasn’t impressed with me after I cleaned his cage and he normally hides away.  It takes time to build a proper nest again!  I decided yesterday that it’s time for him to come and make friends with us again but I couldn’t find him.

That’s when I saw it ….. a huge hole.  He must have escaped and probably did so after I cleaned his cage.  I was so so so so upset.

Tommie was convinced that he wouldn’t run away.  He gets a lot of attention and he knows his food is in our room.  We put food out for him and hoped that we would find him before Bella did.

Round about 11 last night, we heard Bella jump of the bed and chase something.  Tommie woke me and said that he is SURE Bella had seen Hammie.  We searched high and low, especially where she was sniffing around.  Nothing.

I got back into bed … but then thought I should rather just look again.  Up I get and in walks Hammie.  As though he has been doing this for years and he just went for a walk and just got back home.

I was SO relieved!!!!!!  I picked him up and ran outside to Tommie.  Little thing was so hungry.

Thankfully Quintus doesn’t know about the whole ordeal.

I can’t believe we found him.  Can’t believe he just came walking into the room….casual as if nothing happened.

36908_10150196733160051_798565050_13182303_7849707_n

19 responses

  1. Maggie

    Aw! I am SO glad he came back. What a relief. I was really hoping as I was reading this that there was going to be a happy ending 🙂

    November 9, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    • I’m SO thankful that it DID have a happy ending!

      November 10, 2010 at 12:28 pm

  2. Strange how we get attached to these pets! 🙂
    Glad he’s back!

    November 9, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    • It’s so true. I love that little guy

      November 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  3. I’m glad the little guy made it back in one piece.

    November 9, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    • So am I. I wouldn’t have coped well if something happened to him

      November 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  4. Jen

    wondered what adventure he had while he was missing

    pleased you have him back

    November 10, 2010 at 1:08 am

    • lol I wonder what he did as well! HE was so hungry and thirsty, I don’t think he was that happy

      November 10, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  5. Aw – glad he came back.

    November 10, 2010 at 8:26 am

    • So are we!!! I felt SO guilty. He is such a sweet little thing

      November 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm

  6. Gelukkig is hy terug!

    November 10, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    • Ek kon nie glo toe hy net so terug loop in die kamer nie. Ek was ongelooflik bly

      November 10, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  7. Natalie Archer

    I am so glad that you (he) found him (you) again. I also think that he is just the cutest little thing ever. He has been through so much in his little life. I hope he has learnt his lesson about trying to run away from home. 🙂

    November 11, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    • Ag shame. I think he did. He ran back quite quickly!! We are all very very he is back

      November 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm

  8. Oh he is so cute. I have just said no to a free dwarf hamster for the Princess, maybe that was a mistake..

    November 15, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    • They are super cute 🙂

      November 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

  9. Amy

    I think it is essential that people have pets. In all shapes and sizes. I think I would be scared half to death if I found that in my house – im more of a dog person 🙂 I found some similar great stories the other day http://www.risingchild.com/group/viewgroup/40-Pets
    I have to admit it really is cute. Although… from a distance. haha.

    November 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

    • 🙂 We have four dogs (soon to be 5), so we are very much a dog family as well. But we all love animals very much … any shape and size

      November 17, 2010 at 11:28 am

  10. Silly hamster! I remember how our pet hamsters used to sulk when we did cage cleaning.

    December 26, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

