Super Mom

It hurts when you can’t protect

As a mother, one of the hardest things for me is when I can’t protect my child.  When I can comfort but I know I can’t take the pain away.

I’ve mentioned that Zander thought he was going to ‘big’ school this year (we never said that, he somehow just thought he would).   When we spoke about school and him going back, he wasn’t very happy.  Especially when he realized all his friends have now gone on to ‘big’ school (or one to  another school)

I tried to still make it sound exciting.  Told him how he will now be the big boy and he has to help the little ones settle and get used to not being with their Mommies.  He warmed up to the idea some.

Then when I picked him up this afternoon and asked him how his day was, he said it wasn’t nice.  Nobody wanted to play with him.  I felt so sad for him. 

Then his little lip started to quiver and he said that the one friend from school we invited for his birthday, didn’t want to come.  I said that he was coming, I just spoke to his mom outside school and that maybe he just thought his mom said he couldn’t come.  He said no, he doesn’t want to.  Sad smile

Oh man.  My heart broke into a million pieces, while trying to keep his together.

Then he said “Maybe if I didn’t have so many mosquito bites, the other kids would want to play with me”

I felt so upset for him.  Yes, we have many mosquitos but he doesn’t have that many bites.  Not that you look at him and really see them.

I think he was just trying to think of a reason why they aren’t playing with him.

I feel so so sad that I have to take him back when he feels like that.  I feel so sad for him that the one little boy from school that he invited doesn’t want to go to his birthday.  The one day that is his day.  His special day

9 responses

  1. Ek verstaan hoe jy voel. Baie hulpeloos en hartseer. Het so gevoel toe my oudste vir die 1ste keer na ‘n dans toe gegaan het in graad 7 en niemand met hom wou dans nie 😦 Hy het so uitgesien daarna …. Dit is maar deel van die grootword proses. Maak hulle sterk vorentoe.

    January 12, 2011 at 9:38 pm

  2. Mom

    I know what you are feeling Melany. I feel so sorry for him. Hoping today goes better

    xxx

    January 13, 2011 at 6:36 am

  3. Oh, shame! It does break our hearts!
    Why do they have to learn about life in this way?

    January 13, 2011 at 10:19 am

    • Especially when they are still this young 😦

      January 13, 2011 at 10:22 am

  4. Jen

    Oh!!! poor Zander

    big hugs to him

    January 13, 2011 at 10:23 am

  5. Ai tog, shame man. It’s hard having a birthday at the beginning of the year. Mine is Jan 22nd – and I was always having to go back to school on or just before my birthday – it sucks! It also meant that I was the youngest in my class.

    January 13, 2011 at 11:44 am

    • Did you go to school a year early then? Zander will always be the oldest in school. Next year he will turn six just as school starts, where most kids only turn six somewhere during the year

      January 13, 2011 at 11:49 am

  6. Ag Mel, you know my Princess is the same – she will also be the oldest. But moving her to another school for grade R has worked out so well for us.

    Just give him a huge hug from me.

    January 14, 2011 at 10:40 am

  7. Oh goodness me! this thing makes me want to punch the kid that is causing the hurt but I know you cant. Its life – it sucks and its hard!!!

    Hugs and love to you both!

    January 15, 2011 at 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

