Super Mom

A whole handful

Yesterday Zander turned FIVE. 

Only five and already five at the same time.  I looked at him sleeping, moments before we woke him with a “happy birthday” and he seemed so big and so little at the same time.

He just wanted us to surprise him on his birthday.  Basically he wanted to wake up with his presents on my his bed and we have to wake him up, singing “Happy Birthday”

Well, we got up nice and early …. got everything ready quietly, sang happy birthday and he wouldn’t wake up!!! lol  He slept right through the first Happy Birthday, so we had to do a take two.

5th birthday 027 copy

We went to Wimpy for breakfast (a small tradition I have on their birthdays – yes even on school days)

5th birthday 067 copy

Got everything set up and ready for the party.  An hour before the party, it began to rain.  Summer birthday, with a waterslide / jumping castle.  Rain is not good.  Yet it worked out perfectly.  The party was two hours long and for those two hours, there was no right..  Before and after, it rained.  Perfect perfect timing.  Someone was helping me out there!

The friends arrived and they had such a great time.

5th birthday 104 copy

I could hardly get them off the jumping castle long enough, for Zander to blow out his candles and have cake!

5th birthday 1241 copy

As always we let go of his birthday balloons after the party.

5th birthday 171 copy5th birthday 179 copy

I think he had a very happy, happy birthday.

5 responses

  1. Jen

    I know exactly what you mean in your opening – 3rd sentence

    I remember just before DAniel started school back in October. We went for a preschool visit and:-

    everywhere else he seemed big
    at school he looked so little

    however it didnt take too long till he looked ok again in my eyes. I went on 2 preschool visits his father on one. BY the time it was time for dads turn he was able to run to his class room and looked confident. Although I didnt stay for that visit it reassured me greatly to see how Daniel was doing 🙂 🙂 🙂

    the problem is Mel that even when one vows to enjoy each and every day of their babyhood (as I did when Daniel was born) those days still go FAR to FAST 😦

    Im pleased he had a very happy birthday 🙂
    He looked like he was happy 🙂
    LOVED seeing the photos 🙂

    January 16, 2011 at 3:47 am

  2. Sounds like a great time. It reminds me of my son’s 5th birthday party. He also had a bouncy house and released balloons into the sky. I’m going to remember that idea of putting all the birthday presents on the bed in the morning. Sounds like a fun way to wake up!

    January 16, 2011 at 9:25 am

    • My boys love that. We used to get our present like that too 🙂 We always release balloons (as many as their ages). They enjoy that. I think, like me, my boys are suckers for tradition!

      January 16, 2011 at 9:56 am

  3. Happy belated birthday 🙂

    Looks like lots of Spiderman fun!

    January 16, 2011 at 7:03 pm

  4. Looks like he had a great party despite the sadness of last week.

    January 17, 2011 at 10:42 am

Leave a Reply

