Super Mom

My Monday that was

Monday sucked. 

I would get depressed all over again if I had to go through it all.

About 10 % of my irritation / anxiety / stress yesterday was explained by this that went around on Facebook this morning.

Do i work? Uh yeah i do work… 24 hours a day….why??? Coz I’m a MOM… I am a cook, a cleaner, a parent, a teacher, a referee, a nanny, a nurse, a handyman, a maid, a photographer, a councelor, a chauffer and a comforter… I don’t get holidays, sick pay or any days off…. I work through the DAY and NIGHT…. Am on call 24 hours!!! Now tell me your job is harder than mine….

This is just the mom part of my life.  Of every working mother’s life. 

Just like the father, I have a full-time job too.

Yet, I don’t get to come home before my wife and then sulk because there’s no food on the table.  Sit back and watch her cover books and look for a zillion little pictures in magazines that till today I don’t get the point of.

I don’t get to not worry about stationary, plastic covers, where the sellotape is.

But like I said.  That was just 10 % of my frustration.

11 responses

  1. Yeez! You ARE frustrated!
    Don’t let him get away with it, I say!

    January 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

  2. Natalie Archer

    They just dont understand the principle of 2 in a partnership. Mom and Dad both had a part in making of the children. Mom and Dad should have fun in looking for little pictures (which I also see no point in doing) in covering books and most importantly just maybe sometimes … during the week…. also to make food. Good luck

    January 18, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  3. Heather

    oh I totally get that, I was covering books till after 12 last night, after I made dinner for all 7 of us….but I find if I ask for help from Dee, he just makes the situation worse, ends up fighting with the boys, so I just do it myself.

    January 18, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  4. You know I always say most moms are single moms if they are married or not!

    January 18, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  5. I can totally identify with that in my previous marriage. I must say I am lucky in that I have someone now that helps me label the stationery lol. When I was still with J I always thought of myself as a single mom anyway.

    January 18, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  6. It seems that Mum’s have the toughest job out there. I’m pretty lucky in that my Dad was the one who raised us kids, so I have really high standards for guys I’m with. I mean, if my Dad can be a cop, a full-time single parent, a black-belt in karate, and STILL unload a dishwasher, and fold his own washing, so can my boyfriends!

    January 18, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    • WOW Your Dad rocks! This is my point. Men are just so comfortable. Someone else IS doing it, so why should they worry?

      January 19, 2011 at 8:37 am

  7. Tiffany Ambriz

    I am sorry. I just went through a rough time with my other half. I don’t know about you – but I think the biggest part of my frustration is having to ASK for help. It is his home and family too – why can’t he look around and notice there is a load of dishes to start, or a floor to be swept. Gentle hugs my friend. I hope it gets better.

    January 18, 2011 at 10:36 pm

  8. Panni

    I agree with Tiffany. Hubby also always says “just ask”. I dont want to have to ask, then I will rather just do it myself. Also feel like a single mom. Have a 6 week old baby and a 4 year old boy and am doing everything at home and still working every morning. Tired!

    January 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    • Just the six week old baby is enough to make one tired!!! Men really do have it easy

      January 20, 2011 at 8:29 am

  9. Sometimes it’s our own fault, we don’t speak up enough and we don’t actaully say we need help.
    I’m in my second marriage now and boy I tell you what, although I’m blessed with a great husband, I do make sure I communicate that I need help and want help. Try communication.
    Good luck, it is breaking hundrends of years old traditions. My SA marriage was typically the same.

    January 24, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Leave a Reply

