Super Mom

A journey through time

I did this 6 years ago and today, as I was going through my ‘’old’’ blog, I found it again Smile

15 years ago today, I would have been…

  • busy studying for my degree.  I studied every day from 5 am – 6:30 and every evening from 7 pm to 10 pm.  I was extremely committed to get that degree and do well.
  • I work at the best place possible….or rather I worked with the best colleagues friends ever.  We were such a close group of friends.  Some of us still are.
  • I have met Tommie at that stage but we weren’t really friends (even though we worked together!)
  • In fact I was still going out with another guy and we were still very happy together.

MMEL1997c

10 Years ago today, I would have been …

  • 26 and a young happy mom to my first born son.
  • working as a receptionist in my dad’s business (yeah … who knew I’d go from a high-flying big pay job to that!)  I was more than happy with it though, since I could be with Quintus.
  • happy, mostly without stress and content with not having a lot of money.
  • Within my marriage though, I was completely unhappy.  How things change.

5.1.2001

 

5 years ago today, I would have been…

 

  • just had little Zander.  My surprise baby.
  • He would have been 2 weeks old and we would have been back at work already.  No maternity leave for me us.
  • Quintus would have started Grade R and getting all three ready in time for school was challenge.  Jason was in pre-school in a complete different part of town.

2006_0121(39)

3 years ago today, I would have been…

  • Way thinner lol
  • I was then happier within myself
  • We had just worked hard at saving our marriage.  It was completely not working but in the end we somehow made it work.
  • Tommie worked hard a being a good dad.

DSCF5635

 

1 year ago today, I…

  • had made some good friends.  Obviously we’ve had many friends but they weren’t really close friends.  I think last year I realized that the friends we have are more like family.  *This of course does not include my soulmate, who I’ve been friends with since forever*
  • I would have been unsure of life as a mom of a 4th Grader.  Starting with exams and more subjects.  Turned out to be fine in the end.
  • I started working till 3 pm.  No wait, I planned on working until 3 pm.  Normally I got out of the office later.
  • I had a little girl in my life that I care for hugely.  I hope she’s okay …. 

So far this year, I have…

  • Been house-hunting.  We’ve been house-hunting forever  but now we are doing it a little bit more seriously.  Here’s to hoping we will actually get another home this year.
  • I have enrolled Quintus into an aftercare study centre.  It’s his best friends’ mom who does their homework and studies with him.  It has taken a HUGE load off my  back.
  • I’ve fired my housekeeper and employed a really sweet girl.  She doesn’t always understand me but she is ssooo good with the kids and our dogs.  She’s really sweet.

Yesterday, I…

  • Didn’t sleep enough.  I need a lot of sleep Smile
  • Caught up on some programs I have taped.
  • Looked at cars.  I think I might have to replace Hendrik bakkie.

 

Today, I…

  • got extremely frustrated with my computer that wouldn’t work. I total waste of a work day
  • got extremely frustrated with my husband.  Makes me want to scream.

 

Tomorrow, I...

  • hope my computer will work.  Really need it to work.
6 responses

  1. Aw I love this!

    I may steal it 🙂

    February 1, 2011 at 6:10 am

  2. Heather

    Mel, I think the biggest and bestest surprise to me when I “found” you again, was that you and Tommie were still together and so much in love, when I lost contact with you, you were so unhappy with him. So glad your life is so full now.

    February 1, 2011 at 9:23 am

  3. Love this post! WE should all “look back” every now and again… 😀

    February 1, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  4. Soos bloed. Altyd.

    February 3, 2011 at 7:35 am

  5. This is a great one – sal hom moet leen hoor.

    February 4, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Leave a Reply

