Super Mom

Kids

Look, my kids aren’t little angels, dressed in white, being polite all the time.  Seen and not heard.  PerfectNo, not be a 100 miles.

However, they are over-all good kids.  They do their best to be nice.  To respect others.  To respect what they have.  They are mostly nice with each other.

Saturday night though….that night I got a taste of what life could be like.

We had friends over.  Like we do every weekend.  Their two kids play along very nicely with our kids.  No fighting, mostly being proper.  We hardly have to talk to them about behaving badly.

Then throw one naughty hyperactive child into that mix and they turn into monsters!!!

I would love to say that my kids weren’t involved at all.  However, that would make me sound like the mom who won’t accept that her kids can be naughty too and it won’t be completely right.  At least my kids weren’t breaking toys though.

They were loud.  As in shouting at each other loud.

Two of the other kids, were throwing toys against the wall.  Breaking them.  Not their things!?  Don’t break other people’s stuff!  We do have a playroom, where the boys do kick ball and throw rugby balls and play tennis against the wall.  That they have done since they were young and is totally okay with us.

But last night the other kids, were actually throwing toys …cars, planes …. toys, against the walls!!!  While my kids weren’t but they were there and didn’t stop it and I was so upset.  Granted they may have tried but they should have come to tell me.

The one girl thought it might just be a good idea to use the couches as a trampoline and when that didn’t work good enough, she tried out Zander’s boat that he uses on the pool.

I feel like getting all the kids back in my house and make them pay for all the broken toys Sad smile

I’m so not used to kids acting that way.  I can’t believe that ONE extra kid, can cause that much chaos.  Influence the other kids so much.

8 responses

  1. Oh I have seen it before. Our dearest friend’s daughter can wreck a room in two seconds – she does not break anything, but she pulls everything out. It is hectic, it upsets our daughter. It hugely upsets me. Funny enough, when any other friend comes to visit, there is nothing like that. But the moment she is in the mix, this happens and all join in.

    February 7, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  2. ahhhh and we didn’t even visit!

    February 7, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    • And I thought you were going too 😦

      February 7, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  3. Jen

    I think Id talk to this childs parents and tell them how you feel
    and Id not to be keen to have them over again

    February 8, 2011 at 12:07 am

  4. Tiffany Ambriz

    Oh no Melany. What a shame. I have been there before. I wouldn’t have that kid over again for a long, long time. If he broke things – I’d let the parents know. Heaven forbid if my child did that I would really like to know so I could (1)deal with my child, and (2)make reparations to you.

    February 8, 2011 at 6:22 am

    • I did tell the parents and I’m pretty sure they got a good talking to but I really do feel like not asking that child over again. His dad is divorced, so it would be easy to just ask the Dad over on the weekends he doesn’t have the kids

      February 8, 2011 at 6:41 am

  5. That’s bad! Nothing to sour friendships as quickly as something like this!
    In future I would lay down the rules to the kids in front of their parents when they arrive at your home!

    February 8, 2011 at 10:26 am

  6. Mom

    I also think just asking the Dad over when the kids aren’t with him is the best solution to this problem.

    February 9, 2011 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

