Super Mom

Finding a balance

I thought we had a good balance. It was working really, really good…or so I thought.

Quintus would do homework, with his friend(s). Helped by his teacher mom. I would have more time to help Jason with his homework and by the time we get home, we will be able to spend time together as a family.

Well, I think that the “aftercare / homework” centre has too many kids and that Quintus is being distracted too easily.

Every time I check his homework, there is something that he didn’t complete. Forgot about.

Today, we spent 3 hours doing homework after coming home.
I also don’t want him to feel as though he has to do his homework twice.

Maybe I should go back to leaving work earlier and being solely responsible for school work.
Maybe I need to feel in control and sure that he understands and does well.

It will put more stress on me. Take even more time away from Zander (who is really not getting enough attention from me)

Parenting … Not an easy job

13 responses

  1. It is very difficult. I truly wish Ihad more time to spend with Lem as she needs it.

    February 10, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  2. scaredmom

    I WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO BE AT HOME IN THE AFTERNOON WITH MY GIRLS AFTER SCHOOL SO THEY WILL HAVE TO DO HOMEWORK AT CHRECHE AND THEN AGAIN AT HOME. SAD!!!!

    BUT IN 5 YEARS (AMANDALYNN WILL THEN BE 10) MY MOTHER IS GOING ON PENSION AND SHE WILL THEN TAKE THEM IN THE AFTERNOONS.

    SO THEN I DONT HAVE TO STRESS

    February 11, 2011 at 9:09 am

  3. I think three hours is wayyyy to much homework time for his age.

    February 11, 2011 at 9:21 am

    • It’s a pity the school doesn’t feel the same as we do

      February 11, 2011 at 9:30 am

  4. Jaxie

    3 hours of homework is crazy.
    But I understand your thoughts on the aftercare thing. Tristan never did homework properly when he went to aftercare. As stressful as it is, it is better for me to be around to help with homework.

    February 11, 2011 at 9:36 am

  5. First of all I think that at his age 3 hours of home work is ridiculous – what are they doing at school that they need to spend 3 hours going over? Crazy. *But* I think that he needs to start taking responsibility for it himself too. If he misses something, then he must face the consequences, at least once or twice. It will soon sink in, that he can’t be careless about it – and you won’t always be there to make him triple check everything. J and Z need you just as much, and Q is growing up, time to take some stress OFF you, not ADD more!

    February 11, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • I hear what you are saying but if he doesn’t understand it, surely I (as his mom) should make sure he does?

      February 11, 2011 at 10:55 am

  6. Oh I fear the day I will have to juggle all this – this is probably my last year of respite. What can I say – always difficult.

    February 11, 2011 at 3:53 pm

  7. We are having the same issues at the moment! Not sure what I am going to do with a newborn in the mix!

    And like you I do “revision” with them of stuff they did at aftercare but need extra help with!

    February 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  8. shireen

    its so difficult to get right, but i agree that aftercare seems to make them rush so they can play. always have to double check it. i prefer to have them do homework at home

    February 14, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  9. Pingback: Sometimes it’s ok to fit in « Harassed Mom

  10. You would love to know the kids in Oz hardly gets homework! The school’s here recon it’s counter productive, kids learn 6 hours per day, they should go home and play. I freaked out in the beginning but it really seem to make now difference. The kids aren’t any worse off than those who does do tons of home work. Only if they didn’t complete work in class does it gets send home. No exams either, only end High school, eg Year 10 – 12 they start exams. It’s so easy here and still the kids go on to University. ONly thing I don’t like is they never fail either, no matter how they do in primary school, they all go on to the next year, which unfortunately brings the school/class standard down. Weird hey!
    Sport is a big thing, so parents drive kids around alot for after school sport, all is private sports clubs, cost alot. Not like in our days it was all done through the school. There are a few school athletics once a year, called Faction sport but that’s about it. Not much netball and no Rugby, they all play Ozzie rules football, which I hate, haha.
    And the schools do have swimming lessons 2 weeks per year through the Education department which is cool, EVERY ONE learns how to swim in Oz! 🙂

    February 16, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    • SSSOoooo unfair!!! I wish they would leave homework and exams till high school. That would be great!!! The kids would be older and more capable of handling it all! Wow….sounds perfect to me (except that everyone passes lol)

      February 17, 2011 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

