Super Mom

Goodbye’s

It’s one thing when friends move to another town but when they move to another country, it’s just so much worse.

Quintus has been friends with this little boy since they were 3.  Sleep-overs and midnight “I want to go home” happened on many many weekends.  We became friends with his mom and dad and eventually Jason started playing with his younger brother.  Saturdays we would stand next to the rugby field … me shouting and taking photos and them …. well being more proper than me.

This weekend we said goodbye.  I was fine, until Jardel got tears in his eyes.  Seeing that 11 year old fight back tears broke my heart. 

I know they are going to be very happy.  They’ve been wanting to go for years now.  This has been a very long and not-so-easy process.

It doesn’t make the goodbye’s any easier.

The three best friends (taken last year).  Jacque on the left, Quintus and then Jardel on the right.

26032010858

The group of friends at the farewell braai this weekend.

Kruger afskeid 023 copy

Saying goodbye to Melinda (on the left)

Kruger afskeid 011 copy

We’ll miss you guys! …. thank goodness for Skype and such

(and I’ll still battle to support the All Blacks when he plays for them)

9 responses

  1. Oh gosh, this is so hard. In 3 weeks time I have to say goodbye to my best friend -moving to Oz. I have not blogged about it, in fact, I find it almost impossible to talk about it.

    March 1, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    • (((hugs))) to you. They are leaving in in 2 or 3 weeks time. Just depending on some info they are waiting for. So so so difficult.

      March 1, 2011 at 12:39 pm

  2. Elize

    I was the one leaving for Holland 9 years ago, and I can tell you, it isn’t easy for the ones leaving either.

    Cried big tears at the airport

    March 1, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    • Oh I can believe it must be very very difficult to leave everybody and everything you know behind

      March 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  3. So they’re off to NZ? I am sure they will love it there. Aside from the occasional earth rumble, its really such a beautiful place to live. Saying goodbye isn’t easy though. Best of luck to them – and yes – thank goodness for skype etc!

    March 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    • Yes they are going to New Zealand. Can’t believe they are going …. we will miss them

      March 1, 2011 at 2:10 pm

  4. Still not the same as having them right here! 😦

    March 1, 2011 at 3:19 pm

  5. Been there done that! 😦

    March 2, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

