Super Mom

Blue bottles

Wow, that was close.

This morning when we got to the beach it was covered in blue bottles.  Very fascinating to the kids but we soon went to the pool.  They had a great time there and was tired enough just before lunch time, that we could go home.

Later the afternoon, we decided to go back and see if the blue bottles are still there.  They were.

800px-PortugueseMowBermuda

Jenny and I just kept the kids to the edge of the water, making sure it never touched them.  It is after all the worse place to be when the blue bottles are around.

Unfortunately one of the waves came to quickly and as the water pulled away, Jenney saw this huge blue bottle right on the top of Zander’s foot.  She shouted his name and he kicked.  The blue bottle just touched the top of his foot as he kicked it away.

Even in the millisecond, the sting was bad enough to make him cry for a long time.  The red mark sat there on the top of his foot. 

I felt so sad for him.  I must admit that of all the kids, I think he is the one that copes best with pain.  He would cry, then stop and minutes later it would burn all over again. 

It’s looking much better tonight.

15 responses

  1. Wow he’s lucky!! Glad it wasn’t a more serious sting

    March 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm

  2. Apparently vinegar works really well on those stings.

    March 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    • I’ve been told that too (by someone who has been stung more than once!) but wikipedia specifically states that ons should not use it….who knows!

      March 28, 2011 at 6:54 am

  3. Vinegar works, as does pee. Laugh if you want to – but peeing on it takes away the sting. This is what I’m told. Haven’t ever tried it myself. 😉 You know boys, give them a target and tell them to have at it.

    March 28, 2011 at 7:31 am

  4. Ouch! My daughter was just reading about these creatures in her science class. I can’t even imagine what it would feel like if you were out swimming and found yourself in the midst of a bunch of them.

    I’ve also heard that peeing on the wound stops the pain almost immediately.

    March 28, 2011 at 7:38 am

    • We were also saying that they are worse right on the shore where the waves break and the little kids play. Imagine getting one of them on your face! So thankful his wasn’t too bad

      Melany ت

      March 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm

  5. Jen

    oh poor Zander
    hope hes right soon

    March 28, 2011 at 8:25 am

  6. scaredmom

    Shame that must have been painful. Hope he is doing better today.

    March 28, 2011 at 9:02 am

  7. I got stung when i was a child and my mum made me pee on my sting! I was traumatise for life! I think I was more traumatise about peeing on myself.

    March 28, 2011 at 9:57 am

    • Shame man!!!! We just rushed back to the flat and took a warm bath
      .

      March 28, 2011 at 10:23 am

  8. Meat tenderizer works well, but you get a slave at the chemist – we always have some in the beach bag. The sting can actually attack your kidneys and cause severe pain. Hubby used to be a life saver – hence the knowledge.

    March 28, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  9. Oh no 😦 They make beach time so unpleasant!!

    Poor little man!!

    Hopefully they disappear tomorrow!

    March 28, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  10. Wow! I have not visited here in a long time! I happened to find one of your comments and got the link to come here. I love the colors on here! 😀

    March 30, 2011 at 4:33 am

  11. As die bloublasies julle weer bykom, breek ‘n aalwynblaar en smeer dit aan waar dit brand. Hoop julle geniet die vakansie 🙂

    March 31, 2011 at 3:08 pm

  12. I remember my younger sister and brother getting stung once holiday. Its really really sore!

    May 13, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

