Super Mom

Birthday

Okay, so I think I might be stuffing up a birthday for the first time ever.

Quintus is turning 11 next Tuesday.  He said he didn’t want a party but would rather use the money for a big gift.  Very grown-up I thought (and it saved me a ton of planning and organizing!)

Then for the longest time I asked him what he wanted and he didn’t know.  I couldn’t just let him have a birthday and then get nothing.

So we organized for all of us to go watch the Blue Bulls play at Loftus tomorrow night.  We are also taking his best friend and another friend with.  We are staying over at a guesthouse opposite the stadium.  We even bought him a new Blue Bulls shirt.

Today … Jason kinda let the cat out of the bag (after Quintus begged him) and now he doesn’t seem happy at all.  He didn’t say it but I could see it on his face.

I understand that it is not just for him, since we are all going.  I can understand that it’s not a big present like he asked for.  It’s not a party. 

He is not ungrateful.  He is just not that type of child.  I just think he is disappointed.  That he expected more?

I’m feeling like it’s not enough now…..

6 responses

  1. I can imagine how you feel like now – that this is not enough. Hugs.
    Maybe organize something else for next weekend maybe.

    April 29, 2011 at 3:02 pm

  2. Tiffany Ambriz

    Oh Dear, I am sorry things have happened this way. Could it be that it was just the let down about the surprise? Could it be (sort of like the let down when Christmas is all over?) that when he found out it was just rather a disappointment that he no longer had a surprise? What you have planned sounds so lovely. Please don’t feel badly. It sounds like more than generous gift and day. When it rolls around he is going to really enjoy it. I want to say something, and I want you to know it is in love and is not mean to offend. Please don’t keep doing more and more because Q seems a little down. It could lead to bigger and bigger things down the line – and where will it end? What will you do to top it next year? And the year after? Given the information he gave you – you have come up with an amazing day to spend with him. Relax. I bet he’ll come around. Just let him be for a bit. Please keep us posted on how it all works out.

    April 29, 2011 at 5:36 pm

  3. Tiffany Ambriz

    I wanted to add that we had an issue with Jack’s birthday (turning 9 this Aug). We had an opportunity to go camping at a wonderful lake the weekend of his birthday this come August. But since it fell on his birthday I felt compelled to ask him. So I did. I asked him if he would like to go camping for a weekend FOR his birthday. I told him that daddy would rent a boat and they could spend the day fishing – just the 2 of them. (Jack LOVES fishing – and to go out on a boat with JUST daddy all day is a HUGE thing for him.) Jack was very excited! The lake is 3.5 hours away. We were going to stop off at his choice of restaurants on the way. (We live in a rather isolated area – about 1 hour and 30 minutes away from most restaurants.) Well, about 2 weeks ago I made and paid for the reservations at the lake and finalized everything (this place books up fast for the summer so I had to do it now). A few days ago he comes to me and says that he has changed his mind. He doesn’t want to go camping for his birthday. I felt really badly. However, I had to tell him that I am sorry – but it is already planned and we can’t change it. He was a bit upset for a few days but it is fine now. What I did was tell him that sometime the week before, or after the camping trip – he could have his friends over for a simple BBQ and cake. So that is my experience with troublesome birthdays. When Jack (and Quintus) look back on their childhoods – they are going to have so many fond and loving memories. They are going to know how much they were loved. They are not going to be remembering being momentarily disappointed. Keep focus on the bigger picture. It will be alright. Hugs and love my friend. I pray you have peace about this.

    April 29, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    • Thank you Tiffany. You are so so sweet. Your comment came right at a time where I felt really down and sad that his birthday wouldn’t be perfect. But you are right. When we get there, he will feel differently about it and it will be great. Thank you so much for making me feel better about it.

      ˚°♥MεlΩ̴ny♥°˚

      Sent via my BlackBerry

      April 29, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  4. Do you know what he would have wanted instead?

    May 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    • Nope and he didn’t either! In the end though, he was very happy with how it turned out 🙂

      May 13, 2011 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

