Super Mom

Grown-up

I’m feeling very grown-up lately.  Who knew that at almost 37, I would be all proper and make grown-up decisions.   I find myself doing things and saying things that an older mother would say.  Maybe it’s just because the kids are getting bigger.  I can now see how my parenting so far has influenced who they are and hopefully I will be able to not mess up continue being a positive parent.

However, talking about parenting.  Something’s up with Jason.  He has been very angry lately.  He seems to be unhappy, yet he has his moments of joy.  As life tends to do, I think it’s more than one thing bothering him.  I do know or suspect that it has to do with the rugby season.  Quintus has been playing so well this year.  His best ever.  So lots of comments and congratulations on that all day long.  Zander is playing Bulletjie rugby for the school, even though he isn’t in school yet.  Lots of talk about him being so cute and good at it.

Then there’s Jason.  He normally plays for the B-team.  I’m just as proud of him playing there as I would have been if he was playing for the A-team.  To him though, it’s been a huge thing.  Last week he got to play in the A-team (after someone got hurt)  He was SO happy and excited about it.  This was big for him.  Yet we didn’t make a big enough thing out of it.  Quintus’ team won a game that we thought they never would.  Lots of shouting and support there.  Yet, when Jason’s team won …. not so much.

I don’t think it’s just that but I know that I need to make a bigger effort of making him feel good about himself.  Proud of himself.  And for him to understand that I’m proud of him always.

Quintus got a Ring neck Parakeet from my mom for his birthday.  I’m normally not a bird-for-a-pet kinda person but Louis is so cute.    He can talk somewhat.  Says “Hallo Louis”  “koppie krap”.  He can meow like a cat.  He is just adorable.  I really should take a proper photo of him.

I should actually just generally take more photos.  I haven’t been taking too many photos. Except when the kids are playing rugby.

Oh well.  Happy Friday the 13th.  Those who believe in stuff like that … terug in die bed met julle Smile

9 responses

  1. I find it hard to be *equal all the time* with just two kids, so I imagine with three it’s even harder. Maybe you two need some alone time? Will he go with you to a movie (just you and him) and you can tell him afterwards (at Wimpy having milkshakes) that it was his treat for playing so well in the A team? Or is he too old for that kind of thing already?

    May 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    • No kid is ever too old for a Milkshake! 🙂 That’s a good idea. They are playing again tomorrow and I really hope he will get a chance to play. Then I will do this. Great idea

      May 16, 2011 at 9:23 am

  2. MelDad

    Now that sounds like a good idea.

    May 14, 2011 at 4:31 am

  3. Jen

    love to see a photo of Louis

    I agree with Ness some mum and son time might help

    May 14, 2011 at 9:29 am

  4. I can imagine that sharing your attention equally between 3 boys would be hard… Perhaps spend some one-on-one time with each so you can praise them individually for their achievements?

    May 14, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  5. Mom

    I think some special alone time for you two will be good Melany. The other two can stay with me

    xxx

    May 14, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    • Thanks Mom. That will be great.

      May 14, 2011 at 5:03 pm

  6. That’s what makes you a good mother! TRying to accomodate all 3 boys! As long as you keep that in mind, you are definitely on the right track… I always believe that if you voice your concern verbally to your boys, and say that you are worried about them not getting all the attention they deserve, but that you are really proud of them equally, I think it goes a very long way! 😀

    May 16, 2011 at 8:35 am

    • I like this. Yes, I should tell him that I worry about him not getting the attention he deserves. … Yes, I like this

      May 16, 2011 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

