Super Mom

Learn by example

You know what I don’t get?  Well many things but lets stick to this for now.

Kids who think they are better than others.  “I’m a better rugby player than you”  for instance.  Uhm okay.  You are so unsure of yourself that you need to go around saying something like that?  You need to say something like that to make others “like” you?  You THINK if you say that, someone will like you more?

I hope my kids doesn’t go around saying something like that.  The thing is, if you say that….”I’m better than YOU”, you aren’t just blowing your own horn.  You are belittling this person you are saying this too.

Maybe kids don’t have the social skills to understand this yet.  Their parents should though.  Kids learn by example isn’t it?

To the little boy who said that to Jason …. I hope in time you will learn to be more secure in yourself.

10 responses

  1. Oh what a shame. I am glad Jason has such a good family and so much love. I am sure it is easier for him – than the boy who said it to him. When children are bullying in that way, you have to stop and think about how bad that child feels about himself – that he has to make himself seem “bigger” or more important by tearing someone else down. Jason will go home to a family that loves and adores him. Parents, grandparents, and brothers who wholeheartedly support him. Jason has so many opportunities everyday that prove to him that he is loved, and has great value. What will that other little boy go home to tonight? Is there anyone there to fill his bucket up with love? Oh how I wish that no one had to compensate for their own issues by grieving others. Hugs to you mama, and your sweet boy too. It is so hard to watch that happen to your child. Make sure you explain to him – just why people are so mean. (I am sure you have.) I know with my kids, when I tell them why … it totally shifts their perspective. That it isn’t them.

    May 20, 2011 at 7:27 am

  2. Mom

    I’m not being funny Melany but short people tend to always have insecurities about them and this short little boy is no different.

    May 20, 2011 at 7:43 am

  3. everything is a competition with kids

    Its Friday’s Shoegasm – go link up!

    May 20, 2011 at 9:19 am

  4. I always tell my Princess that kids that feel they have to say something that belittles you, actually are the ones who feel terribly insecure.

    May 20, 2011 at 9:41 am

  5. I don’t take any *k*k* like that from kids. Honestly I’m the tannie who tells it like it is. The other day some kid mouthed off to my kid (in front of me) and I turned around with a, “Oh yeah, really? Who the hell do you think *you* are actually? Clearly someone with no manners!” – the kid was a bit gobsmacked that I had even said anything, and my kid burst out laughing. I’m sure I’m not setting the best example, but if there is one thing I never did, that I want my kids to do, is STAND UP for themselves, and not stay quiet if something is said to them that’s wrong. Don’t you agree?

    May 20, 2011 at 10:15 am

    • I want my kids to be able to stand up for themselves too. I wish I had known THEN that he said it. Unfortunately Jason only told me this week. Two weeks ago during a practice he came to my mom crying and she asked me what was up (I wasn’t there at the moment) I asked him and he said his knee was sore. Then I found it it’s because that little boy was so mean!

      May 20, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  6. Children “politics”! It’s the worst!

    May 20, 2011 at 1:16 pm

  7. I tell Jackson that all the time. So many of his friends do that and I tell him that if you are really that good at something, then people will notice. If they don’t notice, then you aren’t really that good at it. One of their friends is really quiet and polite and a phenomenal athlete. When they had a sleepover recently ALL the kids kept going on and on about how good he is at this and how he can do that. I told Jackson that they do that because his friend doesn’t toot his own horn. They never compliment the ones that brag all the time because who wants to feed an already overblown ego. His friend that doesn’t brag is a great example for the others.

    May 20, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    • He really is setting a great example. What a sweet little boy. (btw I love how you raise your sons and how you support them)

      May 20, 2011 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

