Super Mom

Boys

I’m sitting in the doctor’s waiting room. Where it’s normally quiet. You know, people not talking any louder than a whisper.

Today though, it’s different. There’s two matric boys sitting on the other end of the room who I assume want people to hear their conversation. I wish I could tape it and play it back to them once they are the fathers of teenage daughters.
They have no respect whatsoever. Girls are clearly there for their pleasure only. They don’t care about a girl’s feelings.

These boys are 6/7 years older than Quintus. That is not a lot. I hope and pray my boys will be different. Just show respect. Be proper. In all areas. Mostly towards girls. Being proper in public places but also there where we can’t see them.

I can only hope they will.

8 responses

  1. You are not the only one who so desperately pray that our sons will be more proper than that type of children. I pray it every day. I hope it every day.

    July 6, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  2. I know with a mom like you, they will be. Respect for woman starts with respect for mom, and then sisters. So the time with Kyla was also precious.

    July 6, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  3. Adele

    Its a sad state of affairs … wonder if they have sisters.

    July 6, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  4. Jen

    Im sure with a mom like you they will be lovely 🙂
    they also have some lovely role models like their grandfather and uncle

    July 7, 2011 at 12:40 am

  5. We do what we can and hope its enough. The biggest teacher for our kids is the way we are treated.

    So I hope that by them growing up in a home where I am treated with respect they will learn to treat other women the same way!

    July 7, 2011 at 11:36 am

  6. Jy gaan definitief nie ‘n probleem hê met jou kinders nie. Hulle het al klaar respek vir jou as Ma en vrou en so sal hulle ook respek hê vir ander vrouens in hulle lewe. Ouma het altyd gesê ordentlikheid kos nie geld nie.

    July 7, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  7. Oh shame. I hate to hear people talk of any girls/women like that. My hubby has been known to walk up to them and ask them, “What if it was your mother, or sister, or your daughter some guys were talking about like that?”. It makes you wonder what their parents did/did not do to instill in them that women are special and to be treasured. Mostly – it think it is unfettered access to today’s media. Magazines/TV/movies that clearly promote that women are nothing more than objects for sex or arm candy. I know you are teaching your boys differently, as I am – and I know we are not alone. But I also know we are probably in the minority of families out there.

    July 8, 2011 at 1:04 am

  8. Boys will do as they are taught by their parents!
    😀

    August 4, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

