Super Mom

Good behaviour…. not optional

I remember when I fell pregnant with Quintus and we told our friends.  I remember one of the men commenting that he feels sorry for the poor child.  I’d be such a strict mom.  I’m much too driven, to spend enough time with my child.  That I don’t have near enough patience.  (come to think of it, he sure didn’t sound happy for us lol)

Well, I think I turned out to be just the opposite kind of mom.  I spend loads of time with my kids.  Last night we laughed so much, Quintus was worried he might …. you get the picture.  We have a lot of fun.

I support them 100 % in whatever they do.  I worry about the constantly.  I love them endlessly.  Just like they love me endlessly as well.  Or like Zander said last night “I love you more than rugby balls”   Now if you really know Zander, you will know how much that is!

I am strict though.  All the kids (including our friends’ children) have said that I’m the strict one.  Our friends often joke that they’ll call me if the kids don’t start behaving themselves.  I know I’m strict. I expect good behaviour.  It’s not a choice.  It just is.  I expect good manners probably more than A’s on a report.

This is why I love it when the kids get home with a new Club + level!

2011-09-23

I totally love these kids.  Always.  Regardless.  Forever.

funny_photo_20110922135118

9 responses

  1. Strict is good. Strict means you love them enough to want the best for them, and from them. If we don’t teach them now – they are going to have a hard time in life. Submitting to employers, obeying the laws of society (even if they don’t seem fair or right), treating others well, etc. My mom was strict (as am I). I remember complaining once that she wasn’t being fair – that she didn’t let me ___X___ when my friends’ parents were not that strict. Her answer always was, “well maybe they don’t love their children as much as I love you”. I thought that was a horrible thing to say when I was younger – but now, I’d say that is about right. I love them enough to take the time to train them up in the way they should go.

    I giggled at the “I love you more than rugby balls” comment. My kids say things like, “I love you more than chocolate”, or “more than a good book”, etc. etc. Keep being strict – you already are seeing the fruits of your labor.

    September 22, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    • When they boys complain about a friend being able to do something (especially one of our close friends’kids), I also say that I’m not that child’s parent. And I expect different things from my kids than other parents maybe do.

      September 23, 2011 at 9:19 am

  2. While David is stricter than me I do expect good behaviour and my children know that!!!!

    Well done – you are doing a great job 🙂

    September 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

  3. *GGHWITISH* (sound of whip snapping). I am strict too. There is no substitute for manners! You know how folks talk about ‘sparing the rod’ ? Well we don’t smack, but we have a different “ROD” it’s called Respect. Order. Discipline. Everything falls under this. Good manners and kindness, I insist on it, and the kids know their boundaries. It doesn’t stop them from pushing it – but they know when they’ve gone too far. 🙂

    September 22, 2011 at 6:08 pm

  4. Good post, Bok!! MelDad

    September 22, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  5. Jen

    u r a great mom Mel

    kids also change you i think

    lol bless Zander

    sometimes I think im too soft however everyone i know tells me i have good kids and how polite they are
    i like you think its important and it warms my heart when i hear my boys saying thankyou to other people

    if we are at keas or a school trip i always point out to the kids how i liked how “Johnny” said thank you

    I LOVE your photo vase

    September 23, 2011 at 2:27 am

    • 🙂 Thank you. It’s important for kids to have good manners. I can think that your kids must be well-behaved. I think you are a good mom.

      September 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

  6. Awh mom, so cool! We are also rather to the strict side – and I do believe it is the right side

    October 1, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  7. Strict is good – no, it’s fantastic. I have a huge problem with children who have no manners and misbehaves the whole time – I think it’s a sign of a lack of respect. I was raised by an extremely strict Ouma and today I am just as strict as she used to be 😯

    ‘more than rugby balls’ – now THAT is love!

    October 6, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

