Super Mom

Not the conventional mother

Nope.  Not the conventional mother at all.

DSC_0211

I’m the mom who keeps the kids out of school because it’s snowing and they have never experienced snow before.  Because it most probably will never snow (proper white snow that your legs get lost in) in Klerksdorp.  (oh and the poor little snow men are tiny, since we don’t own mittens and your hands tend to get very cold for some reason!)

2011-10-18 10.39.14

I’m the mom that keeps them out of school to take them to the Voortrekker monument.  Won’t you remember more about it when you have been to the museum?  Actually seen the toys they played with.  The flags.  The guns.  They way they lived?  Won’t you appreciate your language more if you understand how they fought for it?

DSC00117_2

I’m the mom who takes them out of school early, so that they can meet up with Ouma and Oupa at the train station.  For them to see the very smart and luxurious Blue Train.  To get the chance to meet their butler and take a small quick tour of the train.

2011-10-18 13.21.01

Yes, I’m the mom who feels that some days they can learn more from missing day at school.

Don’t tell the teachers though lol

15 responses

  1. I remember growing up – and at my first high school (a govt one) they tried to put me in detention for missing the last day of term (at the start of the new term) – because my parents had written to let them know we were going overseas. At the private school a year later, I let my teachers know I wouldn’t be at school for the last day of term, and they a) asked where we were going and b) gave us a list of interesting things to see in the area we were visiting – that would help me with the subject matter we were studying in History, Art and English. Talk about chalk and cheese.

    You’re so right to see the education of your kids as MORE than just time at school.

    October 21, 2011 at 9:31 am

  2. shireenm

    nothing worng with this.

    October 21, 2011 at 10:09 am

  3. What an awesome mum you are.

    October 21, 2011 at 10:10 am

  4. Tiffany Ambriz

    And I think that makes you a very smart, loving, fantastic mom. Learning is so much more than a desk and chair and books. Life is often the best teachers – and they will remember those lessons a great deal longer than a blurb they read in a book. Good for you!

    October 21, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    • Melany

      Thanks Tiffany. I think some people feel I’m wrong for just taking them out of school and not worrying about them having a 100 % attendance at school but like you, I think just sometimes life is a better teacher.

      October 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm

  5. Awesome post and definitely the kind of mom I want to be, when my boys go to big school.

    P.S. feeling very guilty that I haven’t actually been to the Voortrekker Monument in ages and it is right around the corner from us.

    October 21, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    • Melany

      Can you believe it was my first trip there! Sjoe. The kids loved it and they learned a lot and that’s all the matters 🙂

      October 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

  6. Mom

    Love that you are this kind of Mom xxxx

    October 21, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    • Melany

      I learned from the best! 🙂

      Sent from Samsung Mobile

      October 21, 2011 at 6:43 pm

  7. You sound like a homeschooler!

    October 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    • Melany

      LOL. I would LOVE to homeschool my kids! 

      Sent from Samsung Mobile

      October 21, 2011 at 11:13 pm

  8. Cathy_H

    Sounds like the best sort of education.

    October 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  9. Oh you are a way cool mom! Give me a shout when you are here next.

    October 24, 2011 at 2:42 pm

  10. Jen

    all educational reasons 🙂

    Im the mom who let my youngest take an extra day holiday today because we werent home til late last night after spending a few very enjoyable days with my sister and her family on her farm

    October 24, 2011 at 10:29 pm

  11. I fully agree 😀

    October 28, 2011 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

