Super Mom

….this is not what I want

So I’m 37.

No real surprise there.  It’s not a state secret or anything.

I’ve been working as an accountant for 15 years. 

No real secret there either.

I’ve been happy in my job for probably 5 of those 15 years.

Now that might be a surprise.

I don’t think there is one day that I enjoy my job.  Not one.  There is no satisfaction in my job.  None.  No one thanks you for telling them to pay taxes.  Even if you are helping them pay less.  They don’t want to pay at all. 

People like me (thank goodness) but they don’t like what I do.  I don’t end up being their favourite appointment of the day.

I so wish I had taken a different route when it comes to my work.  I always wanted to work with kids.  Maybe I should sommer go study again.  At my young age. 

I’m not even half-way through my working career and already I’m wishing the years away.

You know, I never wake up excited about the day…..except weekends lol  I always wonder who is going to be upset about what. 

I’m sick of getting no support from SARS.  SARS doesn’t want to assist us in giving them money and the clients doesn’t want us to do it either.  Where is the ‘win’ in this situation?

I wonder if I just stopped working…….I don’t know how we’d survive and I’d probably kick my ass for doing it but just to wake up for a while and not have to worry about who is going to be p!ssed off today, would be nice.

I don’t get to spend proper time with the kids.  Homework gets done while I’m working.  preferably with as little talk as possible and if we need to talk, then at least speak softly.  Not proper that.  Not at all.

I wish I could say that I’ll feel better tomorrow but it’s not been better for so long.

I’m g@tvol now.  Of rude people.  People not taking responsibility.  Worrying that a tiny mistake can cost a client millions.  Sick of trying to get things done before a submission date, when the clients are keeping me up.  Sick of it.  Sick of having to go to work when I’m feeling sick and would / should rather be in bed. 

Sick of having little patience with my kids.  Mostly because I’m stressed at work. 

Okay, okay.  I’m done complaining. 

I have a job.  A good income.  I drive a smart car and have 3 happy, healthy boys.  That’s what really counts right?

9 responses

  1. You sound like most South Africans this time of year. We all need a holiday because we all work so damn hard.

    October 31, 2011 at 7:04 pm

  2. shireenm

    Its not too late to change your career – look at me – I am the same age as you and making a complete career change.

    October 31, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    • Melany

      Is true! I was actually talking to Tommie yesterday about going into teaching but sjoe…they don’t make a lot of money lol

      November 1, 2011 at 8:29 am

  3. I know that these days we all should be thankful for having a job but what happened about being happy in life? We only have one time on this earth, so why should we be unhappy every day of our life? We spent a lot of time at work and in my opinion, this is where we should be happy.
    Also, if we are stressed all the time because of our work and taking it out on our families, how are they (our homes) then happy?
    I think you should go for it and study for something that you wanted to do. We never are too old to study and 37 is not old. Go for it. You will be perhaps more happy and so your home life as well.
    Happy Birthday to you. May God bless you with many years to come.
    I too am so tired of rude clients – I get them daily and it can so work on my nerves.

    November 1, 2011 at 9:32 am

  4. Here’s my advice.

    Reduce your hours. Then fervently look for that side of you that you love and enjoy. Find a way to make that thing, earn you money. Photography? Something with kids? Something crafty?

    On the plus side – if you reduce your hours – it allows you to gradually reduce your income so that it’s not a shock – until you build it up again, but you will immediately have some improvements in how you feel during the day, and the kids will benefit too.

    There’s always a way.

    November 1, 2011 at 10:03 am

    • Melany

      That’s what I thought. Maybe work mornings only … or till 14:30 or something like that. Spend more quality time with the kids.

      November 1, 2011 at 10:50 am

  5. Ai, do we not all feel this way at times – although I do like my job. You know,it’s never too late to study again – in fact, more an more these days people change their careers in their 30’s

    November 1, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  6. MelDad

    Ja Ja. Thank goodness for your help today with that darn medical hassle. I feel my heart will just stop one day. And then we battle to get money out of clients!

    November 4, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    • Melany

      We all have our moments,hey Dad. Being gatvol probably goes with the job! Some days are better. 

      November 4, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Leave a Reply

