Super Mom

End of era

Last night was my “baby” boy’s last pre-school concert.  A day he looked forward to, not because it’s his last but because he would finally be part of the group graduating.  The ‘big kids’.  The group that gets to be greeted by the younger ones.

Konsert 2011 302

He looked so big and yet so small in his graduation robe.

Konsert 2011 285

At times he looked a bit uncertain.  I think it dawned on him that part of being the ‘big kid’, also means that he will now be moving on to ‘big school’.  With a new teacher.  New friends.

386244_10150957746810051_798565050_21711659_1547262538_n

I can’t believe this is the end of it.  No more pre-school.  No more driving up and down between schools.  All three my boys in the same school.

In all honesty, I have been looking forward to this but now that it’s here, it is very bitter-sweet. 

It hit me yesterday, that Zander will always be the one to bring on the “last”.  Last pre-school day.  Last bulletjie-rugby.  Last primary school.  Together with him moving on from one milestone to another, it will always be the last. 

Best I get used to it now. 

Since my dad was saying last night that he still thinks of me as his baby and it doesn’t feel that long ago that I graduated from pre-school, here is my pre-school graduation photo.

2011-11-20_09.51.24

7 responses

  1. Kerry

    can’t see pics Mel

    November 20, 2011 at 11:26 am

    • Melany

      That is so weird! I just checked on my phone and see it there too….so weird. 

      November 20, 2011 at 11:42 am

  2. Mom

    It is very sad Melany that he grew up so fast especially because I wanted him to stay small for as long as he could. He will love going to the Big school. I love this photo of you. Jason looks SO much like you !!!

    November 20, 2011 at 2:40 pm

  3. Jen

    u look like u were tall!!!!!!!!!!
    I so know how bittersweet it can be
    our babies r growing up far too fast arent they
    my youngest has just turned 6 and has been at school a year
    they start at 5 here in NZ
    unbelievable
    im looking for a brick to pop on his head to slow it down a bit ill throw one to you when i find one 😉

    November 20, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    • Melany

      They start at 5 in SA too. Zander is lucky to be born in January. Even though he is 5 at the beginning of the school year, he soon turns 6

      November 21, 2011 at 6:39 am

  4. Ag cute – just look at him (and you). We last year decided to keep the Princess in grade R for another school year although she was school ready and turns 6 early in January. Next Friday, it’s our turn. But it will be our first – a different type of nostalgia I guess.

    All the best for your big boy

    November 21, 2011 at 2:43 pm

  5. AW man! What a bittersweet moment!

    He looks so flippen cute though 🙂

    November 23, 2011 at 6:20 am

Leave a Reply

