Super Mom

Birthday and ….

This morning I asked Zander what kind of part he wanted for his birthday. For once I want to order the cake early enough. With his birthday so early in the year, I normally wait until the last minute.
All of a sudden he got upset and wouldn’t talk to any of us. He wouldn’t tell me what’s wrong. I decided to just ignore it.

Later he came to me and asked me to go lie with him. That’s when he said he didn’t want a party at all. He didn’t want anybody at his party. I still couldn’t understand why.
Then it dawned on me….

We have told him many times that it will be Christmas, then his birthday and then he will go to “big school”. This is why he doesn’t want a birthday. He doesn’t want to go to school. He is not ready. Well he is but he doesn’t feel ready.

Poor boy 😦

5 responses

  1. Tiffany Ambriz

    Poor little guy. It is such a tough time. One foot in “little kid” land, and one foot in “big kid” land. It can be a frightening, and unsettling time for them. On one hand they long to be a big kid. On the other hand they aren’t quite ready to let go of being a little kid. I am praying he finds peace with this transition.

    December 27, 2011 at 6:15 pm

  2. Ag siestog. So groot maar tog nog maar so klein.

    December 27, 2011 at 9:48 pm

  3. Jen

    praying for him

    December 28, 2011 at 5:03 am

  4. Aw shame man, it can be a bit daunting taking a big step like that. I hope he enjoys it once he gets there.

    December 31, 2011 at 2:54 pm

  5. So klein en tog so groot ne! Ons Prinses verjaar more en sy voel ook maar so bietjie bang vir groot skool

    January 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

