Super Mom

Conquering your fears

I am so very proud of my sons and Kyla.

Yesterday we took them to climb a wall at Chameleons Rock

I think Jason might have some Spiderman blood running through his veins.  Climbing up there was effortless.  His first time ever and it looked as though he has been climbing all his life.

After he finished his second climb the owner asked him if he would like to participate in a competition for school kids. He was very impressed with Jason.  How awesome that there is something he stands out in.  Not living in the shadow of someone else.  So happy for him.

Chameleons Rock 002Chameleons Rock 031

Chameleons Rock 038

Chameleons Rock 042

Quintus was petrified! I didn’t know that he had a fear of heights!  He wasn’t even half-way when he got scared.  Really scared.  I could see the fear in his eyes.  He wanted to go down.  We spoke to him though and I told him what a great feeling it is when you overcome your fears.  When you beat your own self. 

It took him a moment to compose himself and make that decision.  To decide that he will continue even though ever fibre of his being is telling him not to.

Chameleons Rock 065Chameleons Rock 072

VERY unsure.  Fear running through every part of his body.

Chameleons Rock 074

Deciding that he WILL do this

Chameleons Rock 084

Right to the top.  I’m so so proud.

Chameleons Rock 100

Zander was a tad too small to climb the wall.  They DO have a little kiddies wall though.  Unfortunately they have nothing soft for the kids to fall on should they fall.  He was very scared of falling and getting hurt.  Yet, he did try.  He would get scared, get down but get right up and try again.

Chameleons Rock 089

Chameleons Rock 095

Then it was Kyla’s turn.  She broke down.  As in get up and cry just a short way up.  Unfortunately she HAD to go up a little higher before they could let her come down again.  It’s the only way with the safety gear they use.  She pushed through and went as high as she needed too.  Proud once again!

Chameleons Rock 005Chameleons Rock 009

Chameleons Rock 027

I’m so proud of all the kids.  They all rocked!

7 responses

  1. Jen

    im proud too especially of Quintus and Kayla I dont like heights either! I would have been like kayla and wow!!! Q went far higher than I would have

    January 8, 2012 at 11:36 am

  2. I am so impressed! I would never even attempt this as heights scare the living sh out of me. Well done to all of them.

    January 8, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  3. So very impressed!! that’s something I haven’t done with the kids yet.
    Well done on them facing their fears

    January 9, 2012 at 2:59 pm

  4. Very brave kids and so glad for Jason to come into his own too.

    January 10, 2012 at 3:37 pm

  5. That looks like fun…from down here! I could never do that as I am really afraid of heights, but I think my girls would like that. I will have to find a climbing wall here in Kansas and have them try it. Thanks for the great idea!

    January 10, 2012 at 11:06 pm

  6. Such brave kids you have to conquer this wall climbing – something I tried once but due to my fear of heights, it did not go well

    January 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm

  7. Liam and Jenna-Lee would love that.

    February 16, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

