Super Mom

….. And then, sometimes, you can’t save his world

Today was KOSH trails for U12 rugby.  Quintus was chosen to try out but after two games, he wasn’t chosen to go through to the final trails. The only one of the players from his school.
My heart broke for him. I hated seeing him stay behind when all his friends got up.  He fought so hard against those tears.
I asked him if he wanted to go home but he wanted to stay. He wanted to stand next to the field and support his friends. He held his head up high.

I was maybe more proud in that moment than if he had been chosen. If he had been able to go through into that final group.

What he showed then, was character.  a Child with more character than some adults.

Yes, he didn’t make it into the KOSH team this year.
Yes, my heart still broke for him.
Yes, I would have loved for him to make it through.

But years from now, the fact that he didn’t make it into the KOSH team won’t matter so much. The character he showed will.

It is what makes a good friend. Good husband. Good father. Good person.

“I am proud of you Quintus. I am sorry you didn’t make it into the team. How you coped with the fact though, makes me extremely proud. I am so thankful that I get to be a part of the awesome person you are.”

6 responses

  1. Mamma

    My heart goes out to him especially cause they didn’t let him play in his right popsition. I’m so proud of Quintus for showing such strenth xxxx

    April 25, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  2. You are doing a great job raising such an amazing man.

    April 25, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  3. Jen

    WTG Quintus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    April 26, 2012 at 12:12 am

  4. MelDad

    Life is so hard. He is already showing he can handle the knocks. He is the real winner.

    April 26, 2012 at 3:47 am

  5. Charlotte aka Scaredmom

    this had me in tears! You should be the proudest mother ever!!!

    April 26, 2012 at 8:21 am

  6. What a bittersweet moment!!!

    Watching your boys and their rugby I can imagine how disappointed he must have been but staying to support his team shows team work – which often make a player worthy of being accepted into the team even if their is someone better – so he must just keep doing what is is doing!

    Well done mamma!

    April 30, 2012 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

