Super Mom

We have something in common

I like to watch people.  a People watcher I am

When I sit at oncology every morning, I do the same.  I watch people.  I watch the interaction between the staff and all the patients.

I notice how every single person is friendly.  (Except for the b!tch at reception)

The staff is friendly because they want to create an environment where people feel more relaxed.  Where they try to turn something horrible into a situation that you can cope with.

The patients are all friendly as well.  Friendly with each other.  With the staff. 

The interesting thing is that it seems as though race and culture differences are left at the front door.  Black people and English are spoken to by Boere Afrikaans people as though they are their long lost family.  There is no “I got cancer thanks to apartheid”.  It cannot be blamed on someone else.  There is no looking down on another person.  It’s almost like one would like South Africa to be. Everyone treated equally.

Why would this be?  Because they all have cancer?  Maybe. I think that being vulnerable, being scared and unsure – that is what makes everyone equal. 

Fighting for and against the same thing.  That is what makes everyone equal.

8 responses

  1. You’re right – people come together when they fight for and against the same thing.

    May 17, 2012 at 10:21 am

  2. What a poignant post, Mel. It is so sad that it takes a serious illness to bring people together, and yet so wonderful to know that we CAN stand together if we need to. I wonder why SA can’t be like this always.

    May 17, 2012 at 11:14 am

  3. adaftscotslass

    Wouldn’t it be a better world if everyone thought and behaved like your oncology dept?

    May 17, 2012 at 11:45 am

  4. Jen

    I so totally agree with adaftscotslass
    and its interesting watching people isnt it

    May 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  5. I think strife and hardship does bring perspective and brings people together… but why are you at oncology everyday, have I missed something!? Thinking of you.xxx JaneF

    May 17, 2012 at 9:47 pm

  6. cheryl

    Also wondering why you at oncology? I haven’t read your blog in a long long time. What have I missed. Plenty been going on my side.

    Praying that all is well

    Cheryl

    June 1, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    • Melany

      Tommie has (d) skin cancer. It was rather severe and needed to be cut out, right up to his eye muscles. Also took out some of his glands. He got radiations every day for 7 weeks after that.

      June 4, 2012 at 10:08 am

      • cheryl

        Ag shame, but so glad that it can be sorted. It must hectic having it on has face. You are an awesome wife. And awesome mom!

        June 10, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Leave a Reply

