Super Mom

That call

You know how your heart sinks when the school calls and its during school hours.  I had a sinking feeling when she said it’s ……. from the school.  The school has phoned before, where it’s nothing serious.  Often just to help them with something.  I just knew this wasn’t the case.  Maybe it’s the way her voice was too calm when she spoke.

“Quintus cut his foot during break and I think you should take him to the doctor.  He might need stitches but you should look and decide”

I work 2 minutes from school really just two minutes and was there almost before she put the phone down.  Okay, maybe not that fast but let’s just say I didn’t take my time.

It smelled like a hospital when I walked in and I knew it wasn’t a small cut.  Especially after seeing poor Dora mopping the floor.

I took Quintus to the doctor and my least favourite doctor of all times was the only one available to see us.  Seven stitches later and a very upset little big boy. 

I felt SO bad for him.  He held on to me, like I could make the pain go away.  The doctor had to inject him 5 times before the area was dead enough for him to work on it.  It’s a big area and from the looks of it he didn’t even put in as many stitches as he should have.  I think he was feeling so bad for Quintus, he just wanted to get it done (or he wanted to get out and play golf … not sure.)

Quintus is currently lying on Ouma’s bed, high on pain meds.  Not sure how he is going to sleep tonight, since he cannot sleep without Jason shares a bed with Jason.

5 responses

  1. Mom

    I feel for him. Those injections are very very sore. Hope he sleeps tonight. I’m sure you got such a fright. Thank goodness we live so close to the school. XxX

    October 31, 2012 at 4:48 pm

  2. Poor little man! Gosh one get ssuch a fright!

    November 1, 2012 at 8:32 am

  3. Jen

    praying for him
    hope it heals fast

    November 1, 2012 at 9:28 am

  4. Poor, very brave little guy.

    November 1, 2012 at 10:09 am

  5. Agh shame man 😦 That is not lekker!! Hope the pain eases asap!

    November 3, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

