Super Mom

His life

I was having a discussion with my sister-in-law today about our dogs and I mentioned how I will never forget my first pekenise, Droopy.  He had a soul that could not be broken.

I got him when I was 15 / 16. He just arrived at the house of one of my mom’s friends. She didn’t want him and knowing my mom and her love for animals, she brought him to my mom. The poor guy was SO abused. Broken ribs, cut feet. He was in bad shape. Mom fed him, gave him a bath and we all assumed he would just fall in love with her (like all dogs do). He did love my mom and he chose me. He picked me. He would not leave my side and I never expected him to.

I would ride on my scooter and he would ride with. In a bag between my feet.
I took him with when I started working in Johannesburg (of course) and I would meet up with my mom and her sister in hotels. I would put him in a bag and tell him to be quiet. He would not move until in the room.
I took him to work with me when I worked for Hyundai (even when I worked at Senwes)

Senwes office May 1999

Like Bella now, he was always on my lap when I drove

May 1999

 

 

 

 

 

One day he got out of yard and my life stopped.  We looked and advertised and asked and prayed and cried ….. he was just missing.  Just like that.  Ten days later we get a phone call at 10 pm.  One of our neighbours saw him walking towards our house but he wouldn’t let our neighbour pick him up!

What a happy day that was.  Tommie made him food.  I washed him.  Droopy was home.  I got another chance with him.

Two years later though, we had to put him down.  He was blind.  Couldn’t walk anymore.  It broke my heart.  I kept on hoping he would die in his sleep but couldn’t watch him battle like that any more.

Man I will always miss that dog.

3 responses

  1. Oh gosh, they are just so much part of our lives and our families. Loved this post

    April 25, 2013 at 12:53 pm

  2. Mom

    Aw how I miss him too. He was an amazing dog. I can still see you on your red scooter with him riding with you ! Great memories 🙂

    April 25, 2013 at 4:46 pm

  3. You really did his story justice. So beautiful. And I love the photo’s.

    April 25, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

