Super Mom

Sometimes even “supermom” messes up

Oh word and did I mess up.  No I don’t think I’m supermom.  Not by a longshot

Jason has been looking forward to his very first tennis tour for a long time now.  They have been practising VERY hard (as in from 8 am to 5 pm every day)  He was packed and ready (Well as ready as he can be to be without me for over a week)

The night before he was due to leave, his coach sent me an sms and asked me to bring his proof of entry when I drop him off.

Uhm…. WHAT!?  I was supposed to enter him!?  Oh was I ever upset with myself.  The thought never occurred to me that I had to do it.  I thought the club would.  Okay, in my defence I was VERY sick when we had planned all of this and it just slipped by. 

Still, this meant he was going to go on a tour with two tournaments and he wasn’t entered in either of the two!!! 

He was heartbroken to say the least.  I was very impressed with how the coach handled the situation though.  Still.  I messed up.  Badly.

I e-mailed the tournament organizers and asked begged them if he could still enter, even though entries closed weeks before.  Both said they could put him in a cancellation list but that he can’t enter anymore. URGH!!!

Minutes later the first tournament organizer phoned.  “I love your e-mail address” he said (supermom2boys)  I thanked him and said that I don’t feel much like a supermom AT ALL.  He laughed and said I should not worry, Jason will get to play.  He had a cancellation.  YES!

This morning I found out that he got in for the Pretoria part of the tournament to. 

Wow.  Prayers were answered, that’s for sure.

He is doing very well so far.  I love how independent he is.  He is having a great time.

IMG_20130627_102851

8 responses

  1. I’m glad he got to play after all…don’t beat yourself up about it. One little slip – you’re obviously just human like the rest of us? 😉

    July 1, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    • Melany

      lol Yes. That’s what Quintus said too!!!

      July 1, 2013 at 2:13 pm

  2. I am glad to see your boy getting to play eventually. For low-impact exercises you as a family can find activities at familygames.co.za

    July 2, 2013 at 3:27 pm

  3. Thank heavens for cancellations! And even super moms are allowed to slip up sometimes. 😀

    July 13, 2013 at 11:34 am

    • Melany de Bruyn

      Jip…even supermoms 😉 (I’m so far from one though lol)

      July 13, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  4. meglewellyn

    Hi,
    I ran across your blog while doing research for a post on my new blog (great looking kids!) I did spend a bit of time reading your profile a some posts, but have a question. My blog is about the funny things that have happened to me since getting MS, and your blog was listed on a list of bloggers writing about MS, but I’m don’t see anything about that, so had to ask.

    Cheers,
    Meg
    meglewellyn@gmail.com
    bbhwithms.com

    July 15, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    • Hi 🙂 Thanks for the compliments regarding my boys! My SIL has MS but I never listed my blog anywhere (as far as I know!) Will definitely pop over and read your blog

      July 15, 2013 at 4:42 pm

      • HHMM, wish I could recall which MS blogger had yours listed, but have been spending way too much time, visiting way too many blogs and lists to remember….sorry:( Cheers!

        July 15, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

