Super Mom

I could not

I could never work in Human Resources Department. I could never fire someone.

I have been thinking about letting our housekeeper go for the longest time.

The kids have begged me.
Tommie has asked me.
My mother in law told me.

She gave me enough reason.

But I could not.

I looked at her good points. Her raising a child on her own. For the longest time I could not.

Language is a huge problem. She doesn’t understand Afrikaans and doesn’t understand my English either.

I offered for her to work three days a week and learn from an older housekeeper with more experience. She declined.

So she is leaving the end of this month.

I feel so bad. I know I should have done this a long time ago. I still feel bad though.

4 responses

  1. You have such a kind, tender, and compassionate heart Melany. I know that makes issues like firing someone tough. I couldn’t do it either. On the other hand – having that kind and compassionate heart is what makes you such an amazing woman and mother. It is why your boys are so loving. So – I think the benefits outweigh the burdens. You will always feel badly in situations like these. It is a sign that the love of God is in you.

    August 19, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    • Thanks so much Tiffany. I really appreciate those words

      August 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

  2. Kerry

    Melany you are such a patient and caring person, I can well imagine how you are feeling, you have such a kind heart xox

    August 19, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    • Thank you….don’t feel very kind and caring at the moment though 😦

      August 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

