Super Mom

I never expected that

2013 has not been a good year for Quintus in some ways but it has also been a great year in many ways.

His academics exceeded my expectations.
He was included in the school’s first rugby team.
I got his North West colours for the choir.
He was awarded the Culture Boy of the Year award.

Yes, the culture boy of the year.

One of only 6 prestige awards given every year.

Wow.

Let’s back track to last Wednesday night. The school had a very special award ceremony for the Grade 7s and their parents. Tables, snacks, cold drinks. Very smart.

The kids got called up according per class in alphabetical order to receive their certificates. I love his teacher. I couldn’t wait to see him on that stage receiving that certificate for the last time. However they skipped him! Jip…right from D to G but no de Bruyn. At first I didn’t realize it. Tommie did though and pointed out that poor Quintus was standing at the door unsure of what was happening. Tommie was so upset that he even left the hall!

I assumed that his certificate was just put with the wrong class but no… No certificate for him. I even joked that he was sticking around another year!

They then said that they were finished with the awards but would continue with the prestige awards. At that stage I still thought they forgot about my Quintus !

They called up the Sport Girl of the year, Sport Boy, Culture Girl and Culture Boy of the Year, Quintus de Bruyn!

20131113-151101.jpg

I could not control the tears. I was so very happy for him, so so happy. I just couldn’t believe it. My son.

I looked at him standing between the other kids who all received prestige awards and he was the only one without a white shirt. The only one, not a prefect. That had hurt him so much. I could not then and still cannot now, understand why he wasn’t chosen. I think as he stood there, one of the top students of the school, they must have realized their mistake.

20131113-151530.jpg

Standing there though, he must have felt appreciated and finally a part of that special group of kids…all his friends.

His photo might not be on the wall with all the prefects however his name will forever be on the honour roll, for all to read in the hall.

I am so mightily proud of you Quintus.

You are more amazing than you even know. There are big things waiting for you out there.
I will walk with you every step of the way but more importantly, so will God. Your God that you have chosen to follow.

I love you.
Mom

20131113-152002.jpg

20131113-152027.jpg

7 responses

  1. Marié archer

    I can just imagine how proud you must feel Melany. We are very proud grandparents. :)). Congratulations Quintie you truely deserve this. XxxxX.

    November 13, 2013 at 6:57 pm

  2. Oh wow!! that’s incredibly special!! So much better than being a Prefect in my books!
    Well done Quintus!

    November 13, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    • Thank you 🙂 I am so happy that he can end this year on such a high note. It’s been tough going with ALL his friends being prefects

      November 13, 2013 at 9:29 pm

  3. Congratulations!

    November 14, 2013 at 8:28 am

    • Melany

      Thank you! 🙂

      November 14, 2013 at 10:25 am

  4. Congrats! Such a huge achievement!

    November 18, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • Melany

      Thank you!

      November 18, 2013 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

