Super Mom

Hunters

I have never liked hunting.  Ever. 

Even before I became a vegetarian, I was very much against it.  I didn’t go all “tree-hug” about it but those close to me knew exactly how I felt.

Lately though, with this blond chick (Kendall Jones) thinking she is doing Africa a favour by killing our big five and then this kid (Carissa) who is apparently doing research by hunting, it has been on the tip of my tongue to say something.

Now is the time to say that something.

Are there some valid reasons for hunting?  Yes. Definitely (Didn’t think I’d say that, right?)

At times of over-population in a restricted area (human’s fault) I can see that hunting is necessary.

Where you have sick or injured animals, I can see that hunting is necessary.

So yes, there are times when hunting is necessary.

However, if you take of photo of yourself standing over a dead animal, all of the reasons excuses are null and void. 

Then you hunted for the thrill, for the trophy.  That was the main reason.  That was the objective.  The rest just excuses.

You are not a hero for hunting down an animal.  We have technology on our side, they have nothing. 

If you are doing it for a valid, good reason, you won’t feel the need to stand over a dead animal as though you just saved it’s life.  You just did your job.

I don’t stand for a photo with every client that gets money back from SARS with money in my hand.  It’s not something special I’ve done.  It’s my job to make sure they get a refund if it is due to them.

Same with hunters. 

Don’t tell me you hunt for the biltong. You can get that from butchery. 

You hunt for the thrill.  For the photo.  For the trophy.

One response

  1. Totally agree with you!

    July 14, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

