Super Mom

Doctor …. what’s the point?

If you know me well, you will know that I don’t like going to a doctor.  I mostly don’t see the point.  More often than not I know what the problem is and get the necessary medication from our pharmacist.  Don’t get me wrong, I like our doctor.  I could never see myself going to anyone else.  I just don’t like doctors in general.

I’ve been on high blood pressure pills before.  Just as much as I don’t like doctors, I don’t like pills either.  I drink epilepsy meds every single day and would never stop that.  However, I did stop the blood pressure pills.

For the past couple of weeks I have felt as though my blood pressure might be high but didn’t worry about testing it.

Until last week Wednesday.  I had a horrible headache, my lips and eyes felt like they were on fire.  I knew this wasn’t one of my normal headaches. I asked my Dad to take my blood pressure and it was high.  I even fell asleep that afternoon and I have to be very sick before I sleep during the day.  Next morning it was still high and I was forced went to the doctor.

In the mean time I sommer took my dad’s blood pressure pills.  Don’t judge lol

So, back to my doctor.  He took my blood pressure and said I should continue with the same medication as my dad takes.  (I knew that)

He asked about my general health and my mom mentioned my bad back and constant ear problems.

He checked my ears and again said that I’m any ENT’s worst nightmare with my chronic ear infection.  I asked what could be done about this and he said that he feels really sorry for me but there is nothing one can do.  I even asked if I could have the nerves severed so that I have no feeling.  Yes, that is how bad the constant pain is.  He said it’s possible but he wouldn’t advice me to do it lol  I did explain that if they find me with my ear cut off, it has nothing to do with Van Gogh or anything.

He asked about my back…blah blah blah…reminded him of the disc that is non-proper and he mentioned that the only other option except surgery is to lose weight and strengthen the core muscles. 

My mom asked him if we could change my epilepsy medication since that is the cause of my weigh gain.  Especially since I eat less than my very thin Mom.  Ag shame…he just looked defeated and said no.  He knows that it causes weight gain but there is nothing else that I can use.

Lovely.  Nothing can be done about the ears, back and epilepsy pills will make me pick up weight since I’m allergic to all others.

BTW next time you see an over-weight person, don’t necessarily think it’s because they eat too much.

Why am I posting this?  So that next time I’m gatvol with my body, I know I have a reason lol  Or just to keep record or to get it off my chest. 

4 responses

  1. Oh I feel so sorry for you – feeling helpless is the worst feeling in the world. Lots of love

    November 11, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    • Melany

      Thanks … ek waardeer. Dis soms net goed om dit neer te skryf, jy weet?

      November 11, 2014 at 3:20 pm

  2. Oh no.
    have you thought about getting a second opinion? I know another Doctor isn’t something you would want to think of, but maybe they would know of another way to help? I hope you find some comfort in your pain.
    -Jenna

    November 11, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    • Melany

      I’ve seen so many ear doctors it’s sad lol They all say the same thing. I’ve had many an ear operation but nothing has helped.

      November 12, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

