Super Mom

School

At Jason’s grade 7 prizegiving the school played a song that spoke to me so deeply.  A song by a little girl who wasn’t invited to a school prizegiving.  A letter she wrote to her granny, asking if she will ever be good enough to be invited.

I am thankful beyond words that our school is different.  That every child really does count.  It still brought tears to my eyes.

If it were a different school, one of my kids wouldn’t be invited.  Not if it depended on academics.  Even at his own prizegiving I looked at his little face, so proud of the achievements he received for sport (mostly for his rugby team’s achievements) but no mention of academics.

Then I got the school reports and you know what?  I’m so proud.  Proud of every single one of my kids.

Right from the one that decided not to study at all and still … uhm… did WAY above expectation, to the one who worked hard at maths and accounting the last term and increased with a percentage of 20 % and 40 % respectively.  Also the one who has to worked harder than most and it showed.  He improved in every single subject. Our girl child is also did well and got an award for academics.

Proud.  Yes, beyond proud.

Was a good year.  I learned probably more than all of them combined.

Life lessons, that is what I learned.

3 responses

  1. Kerry Rispoli

    The analogy “you reap what you sow”..my minds springs to you Melany..dedication and love are the best example of raising wonderful human and worthy beings. I witnessed your dedication and love on more than one occasion whether it be driving miles to watch your beautiful children compete with rugby, choir, tennis or have them sit at your desk and complete homework..you are what envisions a mother with heart. I also witnessed tough love served with love and understanding by the boys when you spoke to them regarding an issue that needed to be addressed..never a raised voice just a quiet message of what was expected of them..fabulous boys with real heart..So nothing surprises me when I read your dedication reaps what you sowed..Love you guys Aunty Kez xxx

    December 13, 2015 at 6:23 am

    • Melany

      Aunt Kez, those are the nicest words I have heard in a very long time. Thank you so very much. You have no idea what that means to me.

      December 13, 2015 at 11:02 am

  2. Congrats to all! It’s great when they do well!!

    December 17, 2015 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

