Super Mom

2015

Like every year should be, it’s been a year with ups and downs.

Started off real bad, with me declaring February as the start to our new year.  January just sucked.

I had some things to be really upset about and I am actually proud of myself for handling it the way I did.  I so badly wanted to step in and handle the situation but knew it was time for me to let go just a little bit.

I think it’s worse when “friends” hurt my children.  A random school child is easy to handle but “friends”  That hurts.  However, pain has a way of teaching a lesson.  Which is obviously a good thing.  It also hurts to look at your child when he learns that lesson.  When you see that in takes away just a bit more of the innocent trust a child has.  Takes away a little sparkle in the eye.  It’s part of life I suppose.  Learning to be more cautious.

We finally got Zander tested and confirmed that he does have dyslexia.  I knew it.  I realized it in Grade 1.  However, reading it on black and white makes it more real.  We have an awesome school that is going to help Zander as much as they can.  I even considered homeschooling but after talking to our headmaster we decided not to.  Zander loves his rugby and will probably not cope without it.  He loves his friends.  I am sure now that we have made the right decision to keep him in school.  Especially after getting his final school report.  He blew me away.  All the hard work has paid off.  He did so well.

My friend lost a baby and it was one of the most emotionally exhausting 24 hours I spent with her. I don’t know how she coped.  It made me so thankful that we never did have to go through that.  I hope that pretty soon she will have a sweet little baby that I can spoil.

We went from a family of 5 to a family of 6.  Again.  Kyla is back with us. In our foster care.  We are very thankful for that.  We want her happy and we (as well as the social workers) believe that she will be happy here.  It was heartbreaking to take her back to the Children’s Home in September.  Never again.  Her mom is happy that she is here.  All around a good decision.

I think if I had to look back at this year and put it down in one sentence, I would say that we have grown.

Here’s to hoping that 2016 will be a good year.  Where we grow more (please not in size hehe), love more.

I hope that your dreams for 2016 will be achieved.

Mag 2016 sag wees.

 

One response

  1. December was not good for me. January was not any better. So far February has not thrilled me either.

    I’m leaning towards calling this year, 2016 survival?

    February 17, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

