Super Mom

The try they never scored

Now if you know me well enough or if you are ever with me when I watch rugby (next to the field or on TV) then you will know that it drives me insane when a rugby player is arrogant even before he scores a try.  I have said a million times that I wish someone like that would drop the ball or get tackled behind the try line.

Well, this happened on Saturday and Zander was the tackler.  I don’t think I have enjoyed a specific tackle that much ever!

It was the winning try for the opposing team.  The player had managed to find his way through our players and was running behind the try line to score the try under the poles.  Even before he put the ball down, he had his finger in the air and shouted “yes!”

As I looked at the try that was to be scored and felt my heart sink at the thought that we had lost the game, I saw Zander from the corner of my eye, running straight at the arrogant player.  As the boy went to put the ball down, Zander tackled him.  Hard enough to get his legs over of the dead ball line.  So no try.

He did not realize it was not a try and together with the rest of the team (and parents) celebrated the try.  The silence could be heard as they were called back for a scrum.

May this be a lesson to all .  The try is only scored once you have put the ball down, not when you throw your finger in the air to celebrate the not-yet-scored try.

Also a great life lesson.  It’s not over, until it’s over.  Never just give up.

I so wish someone had taken a video of that.  Or photos.  My dad did not think to take photos of another team’s try, so I only have Zander’s reaction after the try was not scored.

PhototasticCollage-2016-03-12-21-34-00.jpg

2 responses

  1. Oh I love this! May international players should learn this lesson too

    March 14, 2016 at 12:08 pm

  2. I totally agree!!! Well done Zander!

    April 11, 2016 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

