Super Mom

Bad Mom Award is all mine

Remember my previous blog post? About Quintus getting concussion on the rugby field?

Well, I hang my head in shame. He fractured his C7 vertebrae. And I DID NOT TAKE HIM TO GET X-Rays.

Tommie did phone our doctor friend (who specializes in sport injuries) He listened to what happened and said he definitely has concussion but that it is really not necessary to take him for x-rays. I did ask Quintus more than once if he had any pain in his neck or back and he said no. No tingling in his feet or hands. Nothing.

Then Friday I realized he was walking with his one shoulder drooping a bit. He started complaining of back-ache. I made an appointment at a physio but thought that maybe I should just take him to the doctor first. Well x-rays done and he has a fracture.
image

Bring on the “I am a horrible mother” guilt. 🙈

No rugby this year (and hopefully ever). Hockey only in 4 weeks.

Flip. This could have been way way way worse.

9 responses

  1. holy moly that’s crazy!! Glad he’s standing!
    I’m not sure I’d even let him play hockey LOL!

    April 25, 2016 at 9:44 pm

    • Well we will have x-rays done before I let him play, that’s for sure! He plays for the 1st team and he is only in Grade 10. Such an honour really. I know he badly wants to play again this year. I do want to wrap him in bubble wrap and keep him home though

      April 25, 2016 at 9:47 pm

      • I get that. I’d probably do the same as you.

        April 25, 2016 at 9:57 pm

  2. OMW I am so glad he’s okay! Shame man!

    April 25, 2016 at 10:19 pm

    • Melany de Bruyn

      Scary stuff! Could have been so much worse 

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

      April 26, 2016 at 6:09 am

  3. Gosh Melany – so glad he is ok. And do not hammer yourself – in all honesty how would you have known?

    April 26, 2016 at 8:29 am

    • He will be fine. Scary though. We will have scans done in 4 weeks as well. To see how he is healing

      April 26, 2016 at 11:31 am

  4. You are just fine….

    Remember when Liam’s ear drum burst and he never said a word. ..

    I’ll take the award for us both!

    April 26, 2016 at 7:09 pm

    • Soulmate, we will share

      April 26, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Leave a Reply

