Super Mom

Homeschooling

The decision was not made within a day, not within a week or a month. I have been thinking of homeschooling Zander since the beginning of the year.  If I’m honest I have probably considered it subconsciously since Grade 1.

That’s when I realized letters don’t make any sense to him.  At all.  He could not differentiate between any of the letters.  It wasn’t just “b and p”  or “d and b”.  They just didn’t make any sense.  I knew that he was dyslexic, I just didn’t have the final diagnosis.

If I knew then what I know now, I would have home-schooled him from Grade 1.

The final decision was only made on Sunday.  Big rush to get books and such but we have started on what I know he battles with.  That’s the joy of it all.  I can work on what HE battles with.

I can do this.  I worked full-time and studied via Unisa after school.  I got my degree in the same amount of time as I would have, had gone to university full time.  I know that I can make time to make things work.  I have always done that.

I know that I’m doing what Zander needs.  I have to help him.  He has changed so much in the course of the year. Emotionally he is not the same child.  The pace is just too fast.  He is not keeping up and the teacher (understandably) get upset. They can’t keep the class behind for one child. He has been called “stupid”.  Told to go on medication because he is too slow. I can’t do that to him.  The school has gone above and beyond to accomodate with exams but the problem lies with class work.

If you look at most of his school marks, you would think I’m a tiny bit crazy.  I would understand that.  He gets distinctions!  However if you look at the languages you will realize I have no choice.

So wish us luck.

IMG_20160719_104728_586000

18 responses

  1. Hope it goes well, it sounds like you’ve made the right decision for him.

    July 19, 2016 at 1:06 pm

  2. Good luck! I know that you know what is best for him and will make it work. Just wondering about the sport. He loves sport. Will the school help there?

    July 19, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    • Yes, I asked about the rugby and he can still play rugby for the school. (B team though). He plays hockey as well and they are playing their first match tomorrow. So he will still be doing sport 🙂

      July 19, 2016 at 2:55 pm

  3. Definitely wishing you luck and saying prayers but, I know you’ll be fine. My brother has dyslexia and he is absolutely one of the most intelligent people I know. I have some Transparent Color Correction Gel Lighting Filter / Colored Overlays / Tinted Plastic Film Sheets that I’d be happy to send you. Private message me your mailing address and I’ll send them if you would like to try them. It sounds ridiculous but, my brother uses them to this day. ❤

    July 19, 2016 at 7:39 pm

    • That will be awesome! Thank you! Zander is also very intelligent which is why I want to give him the best opportunity I can

      July 19, 2016 at 9:13 pm

  4. Strongs Mel! I am glad they will still let him play sport.

    July 20, 2016 at 1:39 pm

    • That was a big deciding point. I honestly would not homeschool if it wasn’t for that

      July 20, 2016 at 1:42 pm

  5. Pay attention to what he’s interested in. Don’t be afraid to encourage him to ask questions. That’s how you learn.

    July 26, 2016 at 5:32 am

  6. *How kids learn! 🙂
    I recommend checking out this TED Talk by an unschooler. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=h11u3vtcpaY

    July 26, 2016 at 5:37 am

  7. Spanglish Jill

    Hello from Canada! I’m seriously considering homeschooling as my kids have sensory issues and don’t do well with the noise level in regular school. Thanks for sharing your experiences! Btw one of the greatest humans I know is a fellow Saffer 🙂

    August 28, 2016 at 3:37 pm

    • Hi! Great to hear from you. Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is a big decision to make. I am glad I did thpugh. He is more relaxed and doing better in his languages. With him being dyslexic, language is my biggest issue.

      August 29, 2016 at 6:14 am

      • Spanglish Jill

        Happy to hear he’s doing well 🙂

        August 29, 2016 at 3:14 pm

  8. ladythirteen

    Good luck! I too decided to pull my son out of public school in order to homeschool him. We are starting 1st grade this year and although I know it will be extremely challenging at times, I know in the long run our boys will flourish! You got this, momma!

    September 8, 2016 at 3:37 am

    • Thanks! Good luck to you as well 🙂 It was definitely the best decision for us. Hope it is for you as well.

      September 8, 2016 at 6:03 am

Leave a Reply

