Super Mom

Homework tears

This is NOT what you want when you do homework with your son.  Tears.  No.  Tears aren’t good.  Not good at all.

These days Quintus does well when it comes to his homework.  He doesn’t give up easily.  He doesn’t feel inadequate.  There’s even brief moments of enjoyment.

Last night it was different though.  Homework had him in tears.

 

He just couldn’t spell the one word correctly.  Just couldn’t.  He was working himself up into hysteria.  I tried to get him to take a break but he wouldn’t.  Instead he blamed his brothers for breathing talking and playing outside.

I finally convinced him to go outside and we did the spelling on the driveway.  He loved the idea and got the spelling right without too much hassle. 

9 responses

  1. That’s so clever!! I love the idea about writing on the driveway!

    November 2, 2007 at 8:57 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    Oh I am so familiar with the fact that brothers still have to breathe when ones son is trying to do his homework

    good thinking Mel:)

    November 2, 2007 at 9:26 pm

  3. GREAT idea. Your day sounds like many of mine. Someone is ALWAYS in trouble for breathing too loud.
    Hey, I figured out where I found you. Rachelle’s blog. ~Karlie

    November 2, 2007 at 9:55 pm

  4. You really are SuperMom!

    November 2, 2007 at 9:59 pm

  5. you have such a wonderful idea!

    November 3, 2007 at 4:50 am

  6. pkmeco

    I’m going to use that idea in my homeschooling!

    November 3, 2007 at 6:49 am

  7. What an awesome idea – spelling words with sidewalk chalk! I am going to use that with my first grader!

    November 3, 2007 at 6:31 pm

  8. FV

    My daughter use to get so frustrated but luckily they found out it was ADHD and decided between behavioral modification and medication that she would be ok. Fortunate for us it worked. I might have to bring chalk out if she gets upset again like she use to do in first grade. She is in third now but those days seem relatively recent. I must be getting old.

    November 4, 2007 at 8:29 am

  9. chalk on the pavement is brilliant! try using fingers in a tray of sand or flour, and whiteboard markers on the fridge!!!

    November 5, 2007 at 8:05 pm

Leave a comment