Super Mom

Chocolate

On our way home today I asked Quintus to get out and buy us milk at the local cafe.  He was taking his sweet time and I was getting impatient.  Two other people had walked in and out after he went in but still he didn’t come out.  I saw him get the milk out of the fridge, so I knew he had to be finished.

I waited and then got worked up as I was sure the cashier wasn’t helping him.  That’s why it’s taking so long.  However when I walked in he was busy looking at the chocolates.     I told him to move right one, we are all waiting for him.

He got into the car and said “All I wanted to do was buy you a chocolate to say thank you for all that you do for us.  I was trying to find a chocolate that I could buy with the change”

 Oh my goodness!!!  I felt SO bad and so blessed at the same time.  This is the nicest thing someone has done for me in a long long time.  Yet I felt SO bad for getting upset with him when all he wanted to do was spoil me.  Do something nice for me. 

Just writing this makes me feel horrible all over again.  He is such a special child and I never want him to stop being so caring, so thoughtful.  I told him many many many times I bad I felt and how I appreciate his thought.  Worst of all is that he had the chocolate in his hand.  He had just found the one that he could buy with the change when I walked into the cafe and told him to move his butt to the car.

I feel so guilty.  So bad.  I hope he knows just how I appreciate his thought.  I did write him a letter tonight that I put next to his bed. 

Quintus woke up this morning gave me such a huge hug after reading his letter.  I made a card for Jason too and he was so touched.  So sweet.

However…here I am beating myself up over something like this, when this mother cared absolutely nothing for her little 2 year old daughter.  Kinda puts things into perspective.  I can’t even imagine what hell that little girl must have gone through.

18 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    bless him
    I hope he loves your letter

    November 27, 2007 at 4:45 am

  2. MelDad

    Being a parent is very, very difficult!!!

    November 27, 2007 at 5:26 am

  3. Marié

    Being a parent is the hardest job on this world. You always try your best but fail miserably at times. You can only do your best Melany.

    November 27, 2007 at 8:11 am

  4. Cheryl

    Reminds me of the mail I’ve received a couple of times about how we are so impatient with our children – if I find it will pass it on.

    Bless Quintus’s soul – he really is an amazing son and brother.

    November 27, 2007 at 9:07 am

  5. Cheryl

    PS – I LOVE your new puppy – I want one too.

    November 27, 2007 at 9:08 am

  6. You are such a blessed woman!!

    November 27, 2007 at 9:56 am

  7. Aw how sweet is that child!!!??? Gosh heart melting 🙂

    November 27, 2007 at 11:32 am

  8. so sweet…parenting is a rough job

    November 27, 2007 at 4:04 pm

  9. Being a parent isn’t easy, is it!? You are doing a wonderful job. What a sweet boy you have.

    Jane, Pinks & Blues

    November 27, 2007 at 7:56 pm

  10. Ah Melanie, I’ll bet that melted your heart the way the sun would have that chocolate. Why is it that so often when our children are having a tender moment, that we are so impatient? But we all do it from time-to-time.

    Don’t beat yourself up. You took the time to make the boys nice hand-written notes. If they are like my kids, that meant a lot to them. Sending you a cyber hug and chocolate!

    November 27, 2007 at 8:02 pm

  11. aaaw, poor dear… but don’t torture yourself supermom!

    November 27, 2007 at 9:12 pm

  12. I think your letter was a wonderful idea! Your boys are very sweet!

    November 27, 2007 at 9:43 pm

  13. addictedtocoke

    In a way I think that it’s kind of a good thing to happen. Because Quintus learn’t that you make mistakes and that you realise and are sorry. Lots of parents don’t have it in them to apologize to their kids, well done to you!

    November 27, 2007 at 11:14 pm

  14. makes me teary-eyed. wonderful child!

    November 28, 2007 at 4:28 am

  15. brandii

    What a wonderful Mon you must be to be raising such a special child .

    November 28, 2007 at 4:33 am

  16. btw, the girl’s mom is insane!

    November 28, 2007 at 4:48 am

  17. Wow… even I got a little teary eyed at this one. I would have felt the same way but knowing what a wonderful child he is I am sure he has already forgiven you.

    November 28, 2007 at 2:47 pm

  18. FV

    You know I bet that he understands. That is so sweet and just proves what a great job you have done raising him. 🙂 Good Job. Super Mom!

    November 29, 2007 at 4:16 am

Leave a comment