Super Mom

It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to

Zander woke up with excruciation ear pain. How do I know this? Well, firstly I’m a pro at earache and secondly he never once stopped shouting and crying, pulling at his ear and saying “eina” (it hurts) over and over again.

My doctor wasn’t on call this morning so instead I had to see a clearly unqualified idiot who proclaimed that my child has no ear infection, only a sinus drip. Yeah right.

So 2 more hours of constant crying and trying to get hold of 2 others doctors that we know well, when I decided I was no longer waiting. Of to the ER we went.

As I walked in I saw a doctor that I know and trust and even though he isn’t on call for my doctor I convinced him to look at Zander. Clearly I know more than the first doctor, since Zander is going in for tubes (grommets) at 4 pm. He would have been done sooner if he didn’t have Milo earlier this morning.

This is his 3rd set of tubes in 2 years.

Tomorrow would have been his birthday party but we have decided to cancel it. No little boy will feel up to a party feeling like this 😦

12 responses

  1. Poor Zander! Earache’s an awful to thing to get for your birthday.

    Wishing him a speedy recovery and happy birthday. We’re having Gabe’s cake today. 🙂

    January 12, 2008 at 3:28 pm

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I’ve now told TWO doctors at Constantiaberg whats wrong with my son, had them tell me I’m wrong, only to ring the paediatrician, to find out I’m actually right and make them look like complete ningcompoops. GRRRRR. Hope Zander feels better soon! Happy Birthday little dude!

    January 12, 2008 at 5:56 pm

  3. Poor little guy. 😦 I hope he’s feeling better now with the help of some medication. I can’t believe he’s two years old this week!!!

    January 12, 2008 at 6:00 pm

  4. FV

    That face makes me feel so bad for him. He looks pitiful. My daughter got the tubes at 3 and one of them is still in and she is now 8. GO FIGURE! LOL Hers seem to never fall out. However, after the tubes went in I think she might of had one ear infection them entire time. Totally worth it for us because from 1 month to 3 years was tough. It seemed like every other week.

    January 12, 2008 at 6:23 pm

  5. Poor little guy! I hope he is feeling much better soon, and at least able to enjoy a little bit of his birthday! (And since I know from personal experience that it’s as hard to watch your child in pain as it is to be the kid in pain… I hope you are holding up as well!)

    January 12, 2008 at 6:45 pm

  6. mybloggylife

    Oh, poor little dear. THat pictureis so sweet. I hope that you feel better soon, little man.
    Hugs!!

    January 12, 2008 at 8:03 pm

  7. jenty

    Shame man, hope the grommet op went well, and he’s back home already.

    January 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm

  8. addictedtocoke

    Oh poor baby! Ear aches are awful, I used to get them a lot. Stupid doctor, you are a wonderful mum for keeping at it and getting the help he needed. I often think what of all the mothers who just trust these doctors….what are their kids going through? ((hugs)) to your wee man.

    January 12, 2008 at 9:53 pm

  9. my3boysandi

    oh poor Zander
    praying for him

    January 12, 2008 at 10:13 pm

  10. Ah, so sorry to hear this.

    January 13, 2008 at 1:36 am

  11. Poor fellow, I hate it when they get sick on a weekend. Hope he feels better soon and has a fantastic party.

    January 13, 2008 at 4:31 am

  12. mdbeau

    Sorry about the tubes; I understand though – in 2 wks Kayla is going in for her 4th set of tubes! the thing with her though is she doesn’t get the ear infections! She just has fluid in her ears that aren’t draining (thank goodness not getting infected though) so she’s back for tubes as the last set came out!

    January 13, 2008 at 5:35 am

Leave a comment