Super Mom

Fifteen years later

It’s fifteen years later but the words, the emotion, as though it happened yesterday.

Fourteen days before his tenth birthday a little boy was murdered.  Murdered for his bicycle.  He ran away in fear but the bastards they ran after him, hit him from behind on his neck and threw him into the river to drown.

They took the bicycle, sold it for R30 (less than $4) and used the money to buy booze.

They felt that a helpless 9 year old boy’s life was worth R30.

I saw his father today and maybe because Quintus is just 9, it hit me more but I cannot stop the tears.   I cannot.  I cannot stop putting myself in the dad’s shoes.  I cannot help thinking what I would do if it were MY son.

Fifteen years later and his dad is still a broken man.  That little boy still dead.  Those men free.

8 responses

  1. So not fair 😦

    May 8, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  2. My God.

    May 8, 2009 at 9:58 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    werent they caught???

    I feel your pain. I have cried for children that have been robbed of their life before in the pass too. I cant forget what happened to her. What he did to her.
    He can get on with his life. She cant.
    I have very strong views on capital punishment

    May 8, 2009 at 11:02 pm

  4. heartbreaking. life is priceless. not because it’s too cheap, but because it’s too expensive to be bought. how is it harder to earn or ask for 4USD than steal and kill!

    May 9, 2009 at 9:05 am

  5. oh, it reminds me of my mom being pointed with a knife on her waist, only to find out that the person just wanted a 5-peso coin (1/10 USD)!

    May 9, 2009 at 9:07 am

  6. mybloggylife

    Saddest.

    May 10, 2009 at 10:49 pm

  7. Moaning Myrtle

    that is awful! shame the poor father!

    May 11, 2009 at 11:09 am

  8. Its frightening and very sad.

    May 15, 2009 at 7:39 am

Leave a Reply

