Super Mom

What do I know …

I saw a client this morning who knows two of my children are homeschooled.

She wanted to know who teaches them. Who gives them their classes. Well, I do I replied.

What do YOU know? (In a very accusing you-are-messing-up-their-lives tone of voice) Are you a qualified teacher? What do you know about maths for example.

Well…I told her that I got 98% for maths at university. I think I know enough.

It bothered me all afternoon. How dare she. This is actually the first time that someone has asked me this to my face. Dared to judge my decision, my parenting to my face.

Tonight though I realized one of the things I do know. I know that I have a dyslexic child who just asked me to explain his maths work because he didn’t quite grasp it and he didn’t want to wait until tomorrow. A child who wants to learn.

So no, I don’t have a degree in teaching but I do know my child better than anyone else. I know to encourage him to want to learn and not force him to do so.

“Any fool can know. The point is to understand” Albert Einstein

10 responses

  1. I truly don’t get why women still think its okay to shame one another! :/

    August 7, 2019 at 9:29 pm

    • You know, if she had taken the time to ask how they are doing, instead of what you think you’re doing, she might actually have benefited from the conversation.

      August 7, 2019 at 9:31 pm

      • That is so very true Angel

        August 15, 2019 at 10:50 am

    • It is beyond me. I will never understand why people think it is okay to judge others and their decisions.

      August 7, 2019 at 9:39 pm

  2. I think what you’re doing is amazing! F them all. What do they know?

    August 11, 2019 at 7:50 am

  3. Another person, ignorant as all hell, laying their OWN insecurities on you, in order to tell you that YOUR opinion is wrong…jirre f*k. People never cease to amaze me with their own stupidity. (Also nice comeback with the 98% – that should have shut her up!)

    August 13, 2019 at 12:59 pm

    • Hahha I love this “jirre f*k” Exactly how I felt

      August 15, 2019 at 10:49 am

  4. You know and I know your kids are kicking ass on all the levels that count. Some people are ignorant of what they do not understand.

    August 16, 2019 at 3:26 pm

    • That is true. I wish people wouldn’t judge and especially when they don’t have all the information.

      August 16, 2019 at 7:27 pm

  5. Moegoes…they are everywhere. Keep doing what you’re doing, because it’s clearly working well, and that is all that matters.

    August 27, 2019 at 9:18 am

Leave a comment