Super Mom

We pay you …

I was watching the rugby this afternoon and I’m so happy that WP won the match against Natal!!!! when I realized again. . .

These rugby players are professional athletes.  They get paid to play.  The get paid to score the tries, kick the conversions, get the drop-kicks.

We pay a lot to watch them play.  The game my dad and Quintus watched last weekend was R1 140 a ticket.  They earn a salary because people are passionate about rugby.  They earn that salary thanks to our support, our loyalty.  They earn that salary because we are willing to pay to watch them play.

Then they have the audacity to fight like 15 year olds on the rugby field?  They have the audacity to give away penalties because they have attitude?  They have ‘off’ days?

WTF?  Have you ever seen your doctor draw pictures on his desk pad while you are talking to him about your ingrown toenail?  That he doesn’t listen because he is having an off day?  Hell no!  You pay him to listen and make you better.

We pay rugbyplayers to practise and win games.  Not to fight.  I’ll watch boxing if I wanted to see people lose their temper.

4 responses

  1. Mom Archer

    I totally agree with you Melany.. time they start acting like the proffesionals they are paid for.

    July 12, 2009 at 6:26 am

  2. What really P*ssed me off at the game yesterday is how the ‘fans’ booed Natal everytime they were going to kick penalties etc. NOT good manners.

    July 12, 2009 at 7:44 am

  3. Maybe they forgot about the purpose of it all…speaking of atheletes, did you catch the news about Cristiano Ronaldo’s pay when he signed contract with Royal Madrid? Insane 74 million pounds!!

    July 12, 2009 at 2:12 pm

  4. I never thought about it that way!

    July 19, 2009 at 8:56 am

Leave a comment