Super Mom

A moment

I have an understanding with the boys, that if they ever need some one-on-one time, they only have to ask and they will get it.  Ask for a moment and it is yours.  It’s not always easy to give all the kids the same amount of attention and some times the boys just need some time alone with me.  Just connect with me, without the others around me.

Tonight, Jason asked for a moment. We looked through a photography book, discussed the photos and why they were so good.  He has such an interest in photography.  I love sharing that with him.

Quintus asked for a moment. He wanted to know what happens at the end of the Bible…so off to the back page we went ;)  I used to do that (well, not with the Bible)  I used to read the last couple of pages and then the book.  Can’t stand the suspense!  Now I force myself not to.

Then Kyla asked for a moment.  All she wanted to do, was to tell me that it would be the bestest if she was one of my kids….

13 responses

  1. Thats really awesome! I have two children only and really battle so spend one on one with either! I really need to try harder!

    February 21, 2009 at 11:25 pm

  2. Gen

    That is so precious Mel……..!

    February 21, 2009 at 11:37 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    maybe Jason will follow in your footsteps

    mmm maybe I will go and do what Quintus did with you 🙂

    and bless Kyla:)

    February 22, 2009 at 1:04 am

  4. Hay

    Awww, sweet Kyla. Must be the name 😉

    February 22, 2009 at 1:43 am

  5. What a powerful moment that was. It is great that you have that with your kids. We try to make time for them together but also “special” time with each of them seperately as well.

    February 22, 2009 at 4:42 am

  6. FV

    That is awesome and so sweet. I am sure that touched your heart. You are too great to be taking on so much.

    February 22, 2009 at 5:22 am

  7. wife

    i love this style. oh! and it must be a “high” hearing kyla’s words.

    February 22, 2009 at 6:49 am

  8. How sweet, i just love that idea …i sometimes feel my kids do not get enough “moments” and i just love the idea of letting them have one when they ask.

    Thank you

    February 22, 2009 at 11:21 am

  9. You are such an amazing mother! I hope to learn from you.
    I’m going to start this with my husband, sometimes life just happens and to stop and say that you need a moment, brings you back to reality.
    Love it!

    February 22, 2009 at 4:34 pm

  10. that is so sweet mel… truly!

    February 22, 2009 at 7:35 pm

  11. Beautiful. It’s a good habit to have. Think I’ll start to bring that one in. 🙂

    February 22, 2009 at 9:21 pm

  12. So sweet. What a wonderful gift you are giving them to let them know that all they have to do is ask for undivided attention. That time is priceless.

    February 23, 2009 at 4:36 pm

  13. sarah

    gave me goosebumps

    February 25, 2009 at 8:54 am

Leave a comment