Super Mom

That was different!

We were invited to attend the baptism of my cousin’s son.  A Greek baptism.

We were completely unsure of where to stand, what to touch or who to greet.  I mean out. of. our. place.

Thankfully we got a card when we walked in.  So nicely done and explaining the meaning of everything that was to happen.  That little boy was blessed, prayed for, undressed, bathed, dressed for an hour.  An entire service just for him.  For HIS baptism.  No other babies.

I can’t believe I didn’t have my camera there.  The lighting was perfect.  I could have taken brilliant photos but also because it is almost impossible to explain in words.  The church is beautiful.  The respect everyone has is touching.  I love the tradition and meaning behind everything.

Everything.  It was such an amazing experience!

I’m so used to our baptisms where there’s at least 5 kids and the minister hardly has time to mention the child’s names.

An entire hour.   Just for him.

Afterwards there was no tea and small cake at Ouma’s house.  It was a proper sit down lunch.  Pudding en alles.  Proper.

Wow.  What an amazing experience.

What a blessed little boy.  There must have been more than 150 people there.  For him.

7 responses

  1. wow that does sound special

    May 17, 2009 at 10:25 pm

  2. Kimberly

    That sounds beautiful!

    I know in our churches (Catholic & Episcopal, at the very least), they don’t allow pictures during Baptisms, but they do afterwards.

    May 17, 2009 at 10:55 pm

  3. That’s what I thought too! That’s why I didn’t even take my camera. There were so many people taking photos though

    May 18, 2009 at 6:02 am

  4. jen

    I dont like it when I could have taken my camera and forget it

    sounds interesting

    May 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

  5. Wenchy

    That sounds so beautiful.

    May 19, 2009 at 11:42 am

  6. What a precious experience that must be! You must be so disappointed that you didn’t bring your camera. But at least you saw it through your naked eyes and not through the lens – somehow, it is different to be busy taking photos and just sitting back and enjoying the whole scene.

    May 20, 2009 at 3:41 pm

  7. That sounds wonderful indeed.

    May 22, 2009 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

