Super Mom

Why I love being a Mom

I’m not a fan of Meme’s but Grace asked me so nicely. 🙂

She tagged me with a new meme that’s been circulating around and will circulate until it reaches to every corner of the world. Presenting, Around the World in 80 clicks!

The idea is for moms around the world to share five things that they love about being a mom.

Books aren’t enough to share my love but here’s 5 things.

IMG_7371 (Small)

  1. Being a parent brought me closer to my parents.  Not because finally I get what they meant when they said “Wait until you have kids and you will realize how your constant fighting frustrated us”…you know, the bad stuff we were doing as kids :)  No, now I get just how much they did for us.  How all the little things are helping me to be a better Mom.
  2. Being a mom is challenging and I love it.  I love that I need to change my parenting style with each new stage.  That I grow as a Mom as my children grow.
  3. I totally love that I get to raise sons.  There is something special in knowing that it is possible for me to help raise an outstanding, caring, loving, strong man.  A whole man. 
  4. I love the feeling of us.  We are a unity.  A circle of trust if you must.  We are unique.  We speak our own language.  Not in words but we get each other.  We love without condition.  We trust regardless.  You will realize that I say ‘we’.  It’s not a one way relationship, it’s  between all of us.
  5. Then there’s the obvious.  The “I love you”, hugs, kisses.  Being able to be a kid again.  It’s fun that I can jump on jumping castles and say it’s because the kids want me to 🙂

I just love being a Mom.  That is what I was meant to be.

March 08 201

14 responses

  1. I think you are a WONDERFUL mom.

    Your kids are more or less the same age as mine and I learn so much from you, just by reading your blog!!!

    Bless your heart, supermom Mel!!!

    April 7, 2009 at 8:13 pm

  2. “I just love being a Mom. That is what I was meant to be.” -> I do agree. I love #3. If only every parent has a goal/s as to what kind of men/women they’re gonna make their kids, every parent would strive hard each day to make that goal a reality. But some parents are not so much into that, some parents lack the passion of becoming parents.

    April 7, 2009 at 9:03 pm

  3. What a lovely post…and one I needed to read today. Thank you

    April 7, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  4. I love being a mom to boys myself. Although I don’t know anything but boys as my kids I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world. The list is great Mel. It is things as these that keep us grounded and hopefully our priorities in the right order. I tell people I go home to my primary job – my kids. I have a job to support my family – I don’t have a family to support my job.

    April 8, 2009 at 1:48 am

  5. MelDad

    Bok, I think this is your best post to date… And just a thought – wait till Z learns about winning and not just taking part. Then there will be drama!

    April 8, 2009 at 5:32 am

  6. Mom Archer

    I agree with your Dad I love this post and so proud of you as a Mom

    xxxx

    April 8, 2009 at 8:52 am

  7. Sarah

    I loved this post Mel. You are a wonderful mom. You are so right – the bond we moms have with our kids is the best in the world 🙂

    April 8, 2009 at 9:01 am

  8. Moaning Myrtle

    I hope one day I can be a mom just like you 🙂

    April 8, 2009 at 10:40 am

  9. Wenchy

    Which is WHY I gave you the name SUPERMOM!

    April 8, 2009 at 12:09 pm

  10. This is lovely 🙂

    April 8, 2009 at 12:27 pm

  11. If you’re interested in discovering your parenting style based on the latest research, please check out the Parenting Style Application by Signal Patterns on Parenting.com.

    The underlying model developed by our team of psychologists reveals an underlying complexity far richer than just ‘strict’ or ‘relaxed’ classifications.

    And what’s particularly interesting is that you can take the test for a spouse and see where potential conflicts might lie and get advice on how to deal w/them. You can also compare results to your friends’.

    April 8, 2009 at 6:57 pm

  12. This is such a nice and positive meme. I may do it soon too. That picture on the lake is priceless.

    April 9, 2009 at 8:17 pm

  13. Thanks for doing the meme, Mel! I love your answers and the photos reflect the love you have for your precious boys and vice versa!

    April 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm

  14. Wonderful post!

    April 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Leave a comment